Creating library with my own Genre folders before importing ?
So, I am new to XBMC having come over from a WD TV Live Plus which is primitave in comparison!
With the WD, I had to create my own genre folders where I had the folders: Action, Adventure, 80's Comedy, Comedy, Drama, Family, etc... and in each of these folders, I would have the seperate movie folders with each MKV file in them.

My understanding of creating the XBMC library is to import all the movies into them and then let XBMC sort it out from there.

Question: Is there any way to keep my genre setup and import, for example, all my Drama movies into a Drama folder within XBMC ? - so within the XBMC library, I can view each genre and it matches how it is organized on my NAS drive

or, should I just import everything and let XBMC sort it all out? I have about 1400 movies that are organized on my NAS, so I wanted to keep some control of it...

my fear is to import everything and then have movies lost by not being captured in a genre folder created by XBMC...
KODI 16.1 on Odroid C2, Android OS, Roku Clients w/ Plex, Dell R710 Rack Server w/ 40TB storage
The only way to create and sort the library is to import everything into XBMC and then sort it using the XBMC filters that are built into the program ? It sorts with the metadata that is collected when scraping?
KODI 16.1 on Odroid C2, Android OS, Roku Clients w/ Plex, Dell R710 Rack Server w/ 40TB storage
You can scan everything into the library, then use File view (Videos -> Files) to navigate your library. The file view now displays all the library metadata (cover art, summaries, etc) basically making File view the same as Library view (TV Shows/Movies), but organized as folders.

XBMC can also filter by genre data it downloads from the TV scraper.
I understand...

I guess my fear is that I import 1400 movies, and then set up some genre folders, but some of my movies dont populate into into some of the folders and are lost in the library.