XBMC + NAS All in one PC?
Hi guys,

I've built a new system that I plan to use as my NAS. I was initially planning on running NAS4Free or FreeNAS 8, and then I was going to build a new HTPC to stream from there.

However, physically, I actually am constrained and must place my NAS unit inside of my home theatre cabinet. I figure, why not let it serve a dual purpose and be both a NAS and my HTPC? I would plan to force XBMC to read locally, and then run some kind of NAS software to do file sharing, streaming (to other potential devices), ftp, http management, etc. at the same time. The PC's hardware is as follows:

-Lian Li PC-Q25B Case
-Intel G540
-Asus P8H77-I mITX LGA1155 (HDMI) Motherboard
-8 GB of ram (1 stick, another slot available to do another 8 GB)
-6 TB in RAID 5
-2 TB in RAID 0

What would be my optimal software setup? NAS4Free and FreeNAS both run on FreeBSD. I would assume it is prohibitively difficult to port XBMC to FreeBSD? I have some experience in cross compiling but not much beyond cross compiling various applications.

Any advice, pointers, experiences are very welcome! Thanks!

I run an HP N36L (http://h18004.www1.hp.com/products/quick...16_na.HTML) with a low profile radeon card for HD decoding.
I have it with 8gb RAM and 2x3tb hdd's in Raid1 (it supports upto 4 or 5 if you use the optical bay drive aswell).
Its running Windows 7 and its flawless Smile

All depends on how technically inclined you are. FreeNAS i have heard works well, but why not run Windows or Ubuntu and just have all the media served via shared folders/media sharing (via XBMC)?

As for management, i just use remote desktop via my laptop to either the login for XBMC or a secondary account i use for file management (moving things around in folders, etc). For torrent management i use the web interface for uTorrent.