Total Noob: Need input on build
First post. Ever. Anywhere. So bear with me.

I have been lurking as I want to bring myself into the 21 century. I am excited about what XBMC has to offer and want to set up my first HTPC. I have just started converting my CDs to FLAC and some of my DVDs (TV shows and movies) to ISO. Showed wife what it would look like and she was thrilled with the idea. Now just need good execution.

First thing. I want not just a bare minimum build, but something to function as a backup computer for internet, light gaming. After reading many threads I have come up with the following:

CPU: Intel i5-3570 Ivy Bridge w 4000HD
Mobo: ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP
RAM: Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Case:SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD05B-USB3.0
Disk drive:SAMSUNG 830 Series MZ-7PC128B/WW
PSU: Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D Green 380W
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB
CPU cooler: needed
GPU: none
BD: add later

I know many would consider this overkill for an HTPC. But I want it to perform well into the future as both an HTPC and general use PC.

I am starting with a single 2TB drive plus a 1TB external USB3.0 until I can save for building my own NAS. I have a spare old PC that could be used, but that's down the road a bit.

Any suggestions on this build? Will it fit in the case? Too tall of RAM? Is the PSU the right choice? Will it be quiet? Do I need a CPU cooler?

I have tons of other questions, so TIA for a response to this and any of my future threads/questions.

Motherboard won't fit.

RAM will fit.

PSU is good (don't forget a power cord)

I have all these recs and many more over at my blog in my hardware guide. I have done a lot of the research and testing already for you.

http://assassinhtpcblog.com/?page_id=160
I have read many of your posts and visited your blog. In fact, this is based off your recommendations. I guess I picked the wrong Silverstone. I tried to get the Silverstone you recommended, but with the USB3.0 ports instead.