Black Screen when fullscreening

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Integrity Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi guys, got xbmc 11.0 for windows 7, when I try to play certain videos (looks like 720, AAC) it just gives me a black screen but audio works fine. If I close down the video but leave it playing the video is working fine in the background... as in I can see it fine. I've tried ticking and unticking the 'use windowed fullscreen instead of true fullscreen' or whatever a bunch of times and it hasn't resolved.

Any help? Im not sure what else to try and clearly it can play the videos but just refuses to in fullscreen.
find quote
bullmecha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Having the same issue with my laptop...

Win 7 Home Premium
I7 Q720 CPU
6 GB RAM
Mobile ATI 5870 driver 8.836.0.0
Realtek Audio driver 6.0.1.5978

XBMC 11.0

Debug

Occurs every time I try to view anything. My desktop runs 11.0 just fine.

Hope someo one is looking into this..I like this program!!!!!
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-25 03:08 by bullmecha.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,394
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 259
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #3
I'm not much of a Windows user myself (I haven't had a Windows partition in months), but I do check the Windows forum out from time to time, and I can't help but notice that this has been reported a bunch of times.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=137278
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=137947
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=138097

At least five different users with various set ups have the same symptom: black screen, but can see the video when they back out of fullscreen playback.

I haven't been able to see anything obvious in any of the past logs that have been posted, but I'm not a developer and I'm unfamiliar with a lot of Windows issues. Anything I can think up of wouldn't explain why video would suddenly work when people back-out into the gui/browser again. If we can figure this out then it's likely a good candidate for the Windows FAQ, as I imagine other people have this issue (only a small percentage actually post to the forums for help, so the real number is most often significantly larger).

I can also be a bit OCD about things for various reasons, and this issue has triggered my OCD! Thus, I'm going to sticky this post for a while to see if we can't get some extra attention on it.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
bullmecha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Thanks Ned !! Nice to see an interest in it finally.
find quote
PatK Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,364
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Canada
Post: #5
I've seen one debug and it looks like 1366x768 was native screen resolution... Just wondering what the resolution is in settings>system>video when not in windowed mode (from what I've read, it would seem everyone has a black screen at this point?) it should be possible to manually add Full Screen to the Display setting and pick a visible res? or does it go black.at that point?

Can someone with this issue, temporarily change their native windows res to 1280x720 and then launch XBMC to see if this change has any effect on the issue.
find quote
Leo8978 Offline
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
I had what seems to be the same problem a while back. Take a look at this thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=125625

Worked great for me. Hope this might fix the issue for you as well.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,394
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 259
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #7
(2012-08-25 22:36)Leo8978 Wrote:  I had what seems to be the same problem a while back. Take a look at this thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=125625

Worked great for me. Hope this might fix the issue for you as well.

Refresh rate would probably explain it, as XBMC v11 and before will switch to the previous refresh rate when one backs out of full screen.

So for our troubled users, if you could test:

Settings/Videos/Playback -> Disable "Sync playback to display"

EDIT: still try this, but I doubt it will help bullmecha or smiledr, as their debug logs shows XBMC detecting 60Hz as the only option for refresh rate.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
(This post was last modified: 2012-08-26 01:53 by Ned Scott.)
find quote
bullmecha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I was going to try your suggestion Ned..mine was already disabled.

I have been through various posts here and tried all the suggestions I could find, so far no luck.

Thanks for the help!
find quote
bullmecha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Hmmm..

Guess there is nothing new to try yet.

Keep up the good work fellas!
find quote
Entrep_Life Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Yeah, exact same issue for me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,353
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 112
Location: USA
Post: #11
Welcome to the XBMC forums, Entrep_Life.

Have you already tried the disabling the setting suggested by Ned Scott in post #7 above?
find quote
Entrep_Life Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Yes, I tried that. No go.

Sad
find quote
mira_helmy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
The same problem here .. I tried everything and no luck Sad

should we try another version Confused

or try this Confused

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=116724
(This post was last modified: 2012-09-11 23:05 by mira_helmy.)
find quote
Entrep_Life Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Anyone have any new ideas?

Seems like this issue is really only affecting a handful of people?
find quote
bullmecha Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Anyone working on this at all, would be nice to hear it if you were. Going to uninstall til the issue is atleast looked at or some kind of information is posted.
find quote
Post Reply