Suggest me a new GFX card for my Gigabyte Zacate machine
Looking to beef up my video power. I have the Gigabyte E350 Zacate board. What is a good mid-upper range GFX card that will work for me? I have zero experience with GFX cards, so I'm not even sure I know what I need. Any help would be great!
For what? XBMC? Gaming?
Mostly XBMC, just having some issues with BD iso files thru TMT5 and PDVD 11. Super choppy playback (from a NAS over GB ethernet.

All my mkv files play fine (even those with HD audio), but for some reason my system just can't keep up with BD isos.
A new GPU? Can you build a new machine?

Its like installing a new 350cc engine in a Pinto.

Just trying to save you some buyer's remorse and save you money in the long run.
I was hoping to avoid it, but you may be right. Might be time to call in a favor from my buddies @ Intel. A good friend of mine had a hand in designing the mini-Itx spec so maybe he's got something laying around that I can poach.

How about this, knowing that I'm sticking to the ITX form factor, can you suggest a card I can use for now and also use in my next build?
(2012-08-22, 02:45)seedubxj Wrote: I was hoping to avoid it, but you may be right. Might be time to call in a favor from my buddies @ Intel. A good friend of mine had a hand in designing the mini-Itx spec so maybe he's got something laying around that I can poach.

How about this, knowing that I'm sticking to the ITX form factor, can you suggest a card I can use for now and also use in my next build?

I would recommend not using a card in your next build. Or at least starting without a card.
(2012-08-22, 02:23)seedubxj Wrote: Looking to beef up my video power. I have the Gigabyte E350 Zacate board. What is a good mid-upper range GFX card that will work for me? I have zero experience with GFX cards, so I'm not even sure I know what I need. Any help would be great!