RE: Networking Issue - Where's my bottleneck/limitation?
So I am trying to play videos with my HTPC through a home network but the videos are not able to play without stuttering/buffer-like playback - it plays smooth for a couple of seconds then stops for a couple seconds then starts playing again and keeps repeating. I tested multiple videos and it seems to only do this with large HD files or in scenes with a high bitrate, which leads me to believe there is some bottleneck in the network.

I have never done this before and everything is still in the building stage, but I just wanted to test this out since it will eventually be my end-game, yet I'm running into problems which have me puzzled. Here is the setup: HTPC is connected to a router by cat5 and is trying to play a video off of an external hard drive connected to a laptop that is connected to the router via cat5 which is sharing the external's files with Windows' homegroup feature - hopefully that makes sense. What puzzles me is I thought this problem would only be caused if the computers were to be shared wirelessly, this is not the case though, everything is wired. Next thing I thought of was a limitation of the router since, from what I have been hearing, it needs to be a gigabit one. I looked up the router I have, which I am renting from my ISP, this one here Actiontec/Qwest Q1000 Wireless N VDSL Modem Router, noting in the description, "gigabit switch", so I believe that is what's I'm looking for. Now I am out of ideas. Does anyone know what may be the cause of this issue?

Let me know if any additional details are required. Appreciate any help. Thanks.
1. We need the specs of the HTPC and the laptop? W7? both

2. Does the HD files play smoothly if you plug the external drive into the HTPC directly?

3. Im assuming its using the USB 2.0 on the Laptop?