help setting up hauppauge 2250 in XBMCbuntu 12.04
I am trying to get my system going with a TV Tuner so I did a clean install of V2 http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...4+alpha%22 and installed tvheadend but my card is not listed as a tv adapter.

What steps do I need to take to trouble shoot this? After a lot of searching I can't find anything that works and I'm a linux noob so some (a lot) is foreign to me. most of what I found is years old and it seems my card should work out of the box with the newer version of ubuntu in this buildHuh

Thanks for any pointers

drivers should be included indeed. but you need a firmware for it to work properly on linux which probably isn't included: http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Ha...V-HVR-2250
opdenkamp / dushmaniac

xbmc-pvr [Eden-PVR builds] [now included in mainline XBMC, so no more source link here :)]
personal website: [link]

Found a problem with PVR? Report it on Trac, under "PVR - core components". Please attach the full debug log.

If you like my work, please consider donating to me and/or Team XBMC.
dushmaniac is correct, you need the firmware for the 2250, available HERE.

You will need to copy this file as root to the following folder on your local machine:

\lib\firmware\{KERNEL VERSION} (ie I'm running kernel 3.2.0-29-generic, so the path to my firmware is \lib\firmware\3.2.0-29-generic\NXP7164-2010-03-10.1.fw).

You can find out your kernel version by typing 'uname -r' (without quotes).

Once your firmware is copied to this directory, reboot your machine. Then to see if it's loaded correctly, type 'dmesg | grep saa' and make sure you see 'firmware loaded'.

Once you see the firmware loaded, you should be good to go. I use MythTV, not TVheadend, so I can't help you any further than that.

Oh, and BTW, if ever you do an dist-upgrade that upgrades your kernel, don't forget to copy the firmware into the new kernel directory!! I've spent a few hours ripping whats left of my hair out because of that.