CD-Text support in XBMC
yeah cd-text would be nice to have i make a lot of mix cds and so they're obviously not on the cddb, but i think this is might be hard to implment i'm not a programmer so i have no idea what needs to be done. it's just that a lot of cd players don't have cd-text so it must be tricky.
i think it depends on the hardware if the cd/dvd drive can read cd-text (the info is not stored within the standart data track). i don't know if xbox dvd drives support cd-text.
read the xbmc online-manual, faq and search the forums before posting! do not e-mail the xbmc-team asking for support!
read/follow the forum rules! note! team-xbmc never have and never will host or distribute ms-xdk binaries/executables!
wiso and i have tested it, its not supported. Sad

code for it is in libcdrip.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

it would be great if xbmc could read the cd-text off audio cds. also, once i put in an audio cd, after a successful cddb lookup, it wants to re-query everytime i change tracks. it would be nice if it did not do that. none the less, great work. thanks.
i think cd-text was investigated and turned out that the xbox hardware did not support it, i don't know if this limitation was tied to a specific dvd-rom drive or the xbox ata/ide controller (who knows, maybe it could possible work with the newer samsung drives but not the older thomson and philips?), maybe a developer can shed some more light on that issue?
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
wiso and me investigated this some time ago. it seemed that the xbox drives do not support cd-text. the code is still available in libcdrip, but not integrated into xbmc. so if any other developer wants to test it again...?

greets

bobbin007

Sad