Mac OS X - Bottom & Left Edge pixels flickering

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PyRo1509 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/issues

I haven't seen any Issues created for this problem.

XBMC on MacMini + <12TB of material displaying on 60" or 150".
[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,960
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 158
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #17
(2012-12-08 21:25)PyRo1509 Wrote:  https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/issues

I haven't seen any Issues created for this problem.

You are not allowed to create issues on github
Use the forum or trac.xbmc.org if confirmed

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
silvain24 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Hi, i have this king of problem too, a one or two pixels line at botom of screen, only since beta update.
I have a Retina 13, end 2012,HD4000 and 2.5Ghz i5.

I had to update on frodo because on the Eden, i was not able to get sound on HDMI output. On Analog and Digital option, no sound, and on HDMI option, sound ok but image flicks each seconds.
find quote
silvain24 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Yesterday i've test with the option: turn off master display when play video, it's perfect, no more judder or green line at the bottom of the tv. Probably because of Retina display the HD4000 is not capable to manage two high res (2560x1600 and 1920x1080).
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-11 10:56 by silvain24.)
find quote
Xtropy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Nov 2005
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #20
(2012-12-11 10:50)silvain24 Wrote:  Yesterday i've test with the option: turn off master display when play video, it's perfect, no more judder or green line at the bottom of the tv. Probably because of Retina display the HD4000 is not capable to manage two high res (2560x1600 and 1920x1080).

This does not address the underlining cause and the majority of us with this issue are only using a single display on pre-2012 MAC's.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,621
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #21
We don't have any hardware which can reproduce that issue.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Xtropy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Nov 2005
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #22
(2012-12-11 20:24)Memphiz Wrote:  We don't have any hardware which can reproduce that issue.

In my case it is only happening with .MP4/H.264 encoded videos, not .avi/XviD's. Not sure if that helps. Every video encoded in this format has the issue.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,621
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #23
Sure its a hardware decoding issue - we already got that. And only h.264 is hardware decoded. Though it doesn't happen on the macs we have (mostly nvidia and ati).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
santosmarco Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
(2012-12-11 22:12)Memphiz Wrote:  Sure its a hardware decoding issue - we already got that. And only h.264 is hardware decoded. Though it doesn't happen on the macs we have (mostly nvidia and ati).

Memphiz, just to confirm your state, I have Mac Mini Mid-2011 i7 2.7 Mhz 8GB with AMD Radeon HD 6630M, where those lines appear in every single H.264 file. I have tested with Frodo RC1 and it was not fixed yet. Do you know if it is considered for the final version or RC2?
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 19,796
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 247
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #25
If the devs can't replicate the issue then it's very unlikely they can fix it.

I would see if it happens with something else on the Mac that uses hardware video decoding. Maybe try an HD movie trailer from Apple's website and play it back in Safari, and see if that does the same thing.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
santosmarco Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
(2012-12-14 16:10)Ned Scott Wrote:  If the devs can't replicate the issue then it's very unlikely they can fix it.

I would see if it happens with something else on the Mac that uses hardware video decoding. Maybe try an HD movie trailer from Apple's website and play it back in Safari, and see if that does the same thing.

On Eden it doesn't happen using the hardware decoding, just to bring as reference. I will test what you suggested.
find quote
jingai Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 12
Post: #27
Ned, it doesn't happen on Eden with HW acceleration, so I'm pretty sure it's an XBMC issue.
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,479
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #28
gezz, only one xbmc.log has been posted, no real info. is this size dependent ?


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-17 20:06 by davilla.)
find quote
MageX Offline
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
I have a mid-2010 Mac mini (2.4GHz Core 2 Duo and NVidia 320M video) and have had this issue on both Lion and Mountain Lion while using any Frodo build. I use an LCD running in 1680x1050 resolution, but this wasn't an issue back when I was still using Eden. Here's another log to see if that helps locate the problem.

http://www.magelair.com/Misc/h.264_issue-xbmc.log
find quote
Walt74 Offline
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: the Netherlands
Post: #30
I have created a debug log witch should contain the screen flickering problem, it is my first attempt at posting a log so be kind.

Your debug xbmc.log: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=22148

is use a mac min 2011 8GB memory OSX 10.8.2 with XBMC Frodo RC1 and Aeon Nox 4.0, output video and sound through HDMI.

The problem exists in all skins and through out all Frodo Beta to RC1, it did not exist in Eden.

XBMC 13.1 / Aeon Nox 5 / Mac Mini 2011 / OSX 10.9.4 / Maranz 1402 / Synology DS1513 / Harmony One / Philips 40"LED TV
find quote
Post Reply