taglib problem
I'm no expert at building things, but i have built xbmc from source before and succeeded. Read the docs and compiled the 1.8 version och taglib for Ubuntu.

But this time i am missing something. It seems when i build XBMC it doesn't link against the 1.8 version, it uses the 1.7 version that comes with Ubuntu 12.04.

ldd xbmc.bin gives me:
libtag.so.1 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libtag.so.1 (0x00007f79a76cc000)

and that is wrong since i get this error when i try to run xbmc:
symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin: undefined symbol: _ZTIN6TagLib8IOStreamE

What am i missing and how do i get XBMC to link to the proper version of taglib?

I changed the taglib Makefile to install into /usr/lib since i use --prefix=/usr when configuring XBMC.
See http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=140613
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
Yes, i've seen that thread. Taglib 1.8 is installed but xbmc dont use that or link against that lib. I'm afraid to remove the 1.7 version because other programs may use that. Shouldn't it be possible to have two versions, but how do i get xbmc to link against the right one?

Or is it necessary to only have one taglib version installed?
And why is xbmc linking against a lib in /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu and not in /usr/lib? I must be doing something wrong.
Are you building TagLib before you build XBMC(./configure)?
Code:
make -C lib/taglib
sudo make -C lib/taglib install
Hmm, maybe i didn't do it before configure, only before make. Will clean up and try again.
Unfortunately that didn't help, still linking against:

ldd xbmc.bin | grep libtag
libtag.so.1 => /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libtag.so.1 (0x00007fd2c8798000)

and that is:

ls -al /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libtag*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 Dec 18 2011 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libtag.so -> libtag.so.1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Aug 26 12:36 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libtag.so.1 -> libtag.so.1.7.0