[RELEASE] Windows Screensaver Script

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
SlrG Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Photo  [RELEASE] Windows Screensaver Script
Post: #1
This is a XBMC python script, which will install itself as python screensaver.
Upon activation by XBMC it will start the current windows screensaver.

So now you'll be able to have all those nice windows screensavers out there
on your Windows XBMC box. Aquariums, Fireplaces and Electric Sheep to
name a few.

Great thanks go out to dersphere and garbear for adding python screensaver
support to XBMC. The Script frame is mostly based on derspheres work, too.
So go ahead and add to their reputation it you like this. Smile

Sadly I was not able to make it work in pure python. The script relies on a
c++ program written by me to do its work. The sourcode is on my github
site and within the zip file. If you don't trust my precompiled version, check
the source and compile it yourself. Smile

For the above reason, the script will not make it into the offical addon repository.
So you'll have to install it by hand. Download the zip. Go to System / Add-ons
and choose Install from zip file. After it is installed go to xbmc's screensaver
settings and choose Windows Screensaver.

You will need a current nightly build to make it work! Frodo-RC2 Or you'll have to wait
till Frodo is released.



The script is tested on Windows 7 (32&64 bit) with electric sheep as screensaver.

If you have problems, feel free to post here with a full debug log.

Github: https://github.com/SlrG/xbmcaddon
Script: script.windowsscreensaver_v1.1.zip


2012-10-24 18:97 Found a bug which happens on remote controlled systems. Will try to fix it asap.
2012-12-08 17:43 I'm still on this. But work life is rather busy at the moment, so it will take more time.
2012-12-27 22:30 Remote control problems should now be fixed I think. More info in github commit.
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-27 23:35 by SlrG.)
find quote
mkpop Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Hi

Thanks for this, this feature is just what I've been looking for. I want to use it to run windows photo gallery as a screen saver which is the only screensaver I can find to select photos according to their metadata (i.e. star ratings in particular).

The only trouble I'm having is that the photo screensaver shows an error message whenever there is music playing in the background. It works fine when xbmc is doing nothing, but if I want some music on in the background then it errors.

I don't know if this is actually anything to do with your script - it may just be a limitation of my setup, but any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks
find quote
SlrG Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Hi mkpop,

work life is rather busy for me at the moment. I'll have a look at your problem over the christmas days. I did not test with windows photo screensaver when developing the script, so I can't say where the problem is, yet. I'll post again if I find a solution or at least let you know where the problem is.

SlrG
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Just wanted to pop in and say "thanks!" Works perfectly with several screensavers I've tried. It really opens up what's available for XBMC.

Thanks again!
find quote
mkpop Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Slrg

Thanks for taking the time to look at this!
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I'll get you a debug log next time this happens...

Several times when exiting the screensaver, XBMC quits with a dialog box:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

[path to xbmc]

R6025
- pure virtual function call
find quote
SlrG Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
@mkpop: I'm sorry to say I can't reproduce your error. How do you have music running in the background? If I start playing an album within xbmc and untick "use visualization if playing audio" the windows foto screensaver starts and ends just fine if I'm within a menu. Please test again using at least Frodo-RC2 and v1.1 of my addon.

If it still errors for you, please enable debug logging and post a link to a full debug log on pastebin.

@majorsl:
I can't reproduce this either. Which Windows Version are you using? Which screensaver? A debug log will indeed be helpful. Smile
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2012-12-27 23:53)SlrG Wrote:  @majorsl:
I can't reproduce this either. Which Windows Version are you using? Which screensaver? A debug log will indeed be helpful. Smile

Hi, I've using this http://www.dreamaquarium.com/ on Win 7 (fully up-to-date).

Unfortunately, it only happens occasionally when it exits, perhaps a 1 in 10 chance.

I'll try to get some debug info over my New Years vacation.

Thank you for replying!
find quote
drift Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I'm using XBMC Remote for iOS, and Frodo 12.1. Once the screensaver starts, my remote can't wake the system. Any ideas on how to fix this?
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-14 00:04 by drift.)
find quote
SlrG Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
With Frodo something seems to have changed in XBMCs handling of screensavers. Work life is rather busy at the moment, so I had no chance to investigate the problem. For now I can only recommend to deactivate the script and use XBMCs internal screensaver. Sad
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-12 11:46 by SlrG.)
find quote
drift Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2013-05-12 11:46)SlrG Wrote:  With Frodo something seems to have changed in XBMCs handling of screensavers. Work life is rather busy at the moment, so I had no chance to investigate the problem. For now I can only recommend to deactivate the script and use XBMCs internal screensaver. Sad

Hey man, I appreciate the response! I updated to 12.2 and the issue is fixed Smile

Thank you very much for a nice script!
find quote
ktjensen Offline
Fan
Posts: 337
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #12
Am using other apps under windows that are affected by a screen saver when it using XBMC. Can set the main windows screensaver to 9999 minutes, while the local in XBMC is only 1 minute
find quote
Lamerjack Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2012-10-24 15:20)SlrG Wrote:   You will need a current nightly build to make it work! Frodo-RC2 Or you'll have to wait
till Frodo is released.

Will work with Gotham?
When i try to install from zip say that are missing dependencies.
Regards.
Enrico.
find quote
SlrG Offline
Donor
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
It propably won't work. Sad Also I won't be able to fix it in the foreseeable future. Sorry. Sad Feel free to have a look at the sourcecode yourself. Its free to pickup and change for everyone.
find quote
Lamerjack Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Seems that was a corrupded install!
On another system works fine.
(or maybe is because this system was upgraded from frodo)
find quote
Post Reply