Linux new to XBMC some help required
hi all.
first of all, if i have posed this thread in the wrong section, then could the admin/mods please move it to the correct section.

as per thread heading, im new to XBMC and from what i have read, i like. but i have some questions as to my requirements for my install.

a little history about my build.
i have currently built a HTPC and i am (reluctantly) running win7 and Mediaportal. i really like MediaPortal and the "StreamedMP" theme that i've installed and more importantly, the wife can use it with little instruction from me. when i built the HTPC, i originally had a Linux build in mind. but i have no experience with Linux and with the time restraints i had at the time, i had to resort to using windows as my OS. but now, windows has gone back to it's old tricks Sad i keep on getting (nearly on a daily basis) a blue screen of death and when the HTPC reboots, it refuses to read the SSD that the OS is installed on. to fix this, i have to open up the HTPC and disconnect all of the HDD's (x3) and then boot up and shut down, re-connect the HDD's and reboot. this only takes me around 5min tops to do, but for my wife, it's a totally different story.

my requirements for this build (other than the basic stuff)
to view, record, pause etc. live tv from DVB-T, DVB-T2, DVB-S and DVB-S2 feeds (digital areal and FreeSat UK)
to play the odd Blu-Ray and DVD through the Blu-Ray drive.
to use my Harmony 300 universal remote.

my HTPC specs
Silverstone HTPC case with Soundgraph iMON VFD/IR Receiver
Motherboard - Asus P8Z68-V PRO
CPU - Intel Core i3-2100 3.10
Ram - 4GB
SSD - 60GB for OS only
HHD 1 - 2TB for TV Series and general downloaded content
HHD 2 - 2TB for Movies and for non-os re-write files/folders
HHD 3 - 250GB for music and photos.
Optical - Blu-Ray read, DVD read/write etc.
TV card 1 - TBS 8920
TV card 2 - BlackGold BGT 3620
Sound - on-board motherboard (HDMI to Amp)
Video - on-board motherboard (HDMI to Amp)