Help With Altering Home Window Buttons
Hi

I am a Noob when it comes to XBMC, and very much so with skinning, and righting code, but I'm trying to learn. I'm sorry if my questions are very basic and I seem a bit simple.

I thought it would be good to start by trying to edit an existing skin in a minor way, so I have been trying to alter the function of some of the buttons on the home screen in AEON MQ4.

I don't really have a lot of use for the images function, so wanted to change this to take me to a specific folder which holds my kids movies. To do this I have tried to follow the instructions here.

I have my sources set out as follows:

<sources>
<programs>
<default pathversion="1"></default>
</programs>
<video>
<source>
<name>MoviesDownloadsNAS</name>
<path pathversion="1">smb://FREENAS/mediavolumeshare1/XBMC Media/Movies/</path>
</source>
<source>
<name>TVShowsNAS</name>
<path pathversion="1">smb://FREENAS/mediavolumeshare1/XBMC Media/TV Shows/</path>
</source>
<source>
<name>KidsMovies</name>
<path pathversion="1">smb://FREENAS/mediavolumeshare1/XBMC Media/Kids/Kids Movies/</path>
</source>
</video>
<music>
</music>
<pictures>
<default pathversion="1"></default>>
</pictures>
<files>
</files>
</sources>

And I believe the 'ActivateWindow' paths I am looking to alter for in MQ4 are found in the IncludesMainMenu.xml.

i have altered the code to what I believed to be correct as follows:

StringCompare(skin.s<include name="menu_pictures">
<label fallback="31008">$INFO[skin.string(pictures_label)]</label>
<icon>$VAR[value_mainmenubg_pictures]</icon>
<onclick condition="![Skin.HasSetting(custommode) | Skin.HasSetting(furnitureselectormode)]">ActivateWindow(videos,KidsMovies,return)</onclick>
<onclick condition="Skin.HasSetting(custommode)">Skin.SetString(custom_pos,menu_pictures)</onclick>
<onclick condition="Skin.HasSetting(custommode)">Skin.SetString(custom_bg,pictures_bg)</onclick>