XBMC v12 (Frodo) upgrade FAQ

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,354
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #31
XBMCbuntu I think uses 12.04 which is 3.2 kernel. Documentation wise for intel and nvidia HD multichannel PCM audio wise I dont know, I know what works for my system which is a bog standard ION gen 1, Kernel patches and what not is terrible idea to document in wiki because its too fast moving.

What I know is intel and amd is a mystery. There's a amd thread which I already added to wiki as a discussion on it. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...deo_issues

Perhaps other wikis like openelec have something on these HD and multichannel audio for Linux idk. I dont have time to look into that.

I dont have avr or anything like that to know how to set it up or document it, Im looking at xbmc forums and threads that have solutions for problems and translating that into wiki and pointing to a forum thread for discussion on whatever it is I added relates to.

Ideally we would collate all this relevant info and adapt it to wiki, on Audio, video, OS configs in Linux like xorgs (I added one for intel with sna acceleration

See here http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Aud...c_settings

and http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...f_with_sna

So im linking what is relevant and that I understand. I use forum link to link back to discussions threads, where I can find something.

* uNiversal shrugs.

atm not time to play with wiki maybe in a couple of days I can see about more.

uNi
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-19 15:39 by uNiversal.)
find quote
scott967 Offline
Fan
Posts: 641
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #32
(2012-11-18 10:06)Ned Scott Wrote:  As in, there are changes to music videos in v12 or just in general?

For example, section 1.15 on local image storage mentions movie and tv show, but nothing on music video.

scott s.
.



(2012-11-18 12:08)uNiversal Wrote:  @scott967

I would be happy to add the missing "music-videos" part to FAQ or other parts, however I dont use music videos myself and have no idea how it works.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Music_videos thats referred/linked by other pages

Feel free to join wiki and fill that up.

Thanks. The obvious problem is, if I had a really good understanding I wouldn't need the wiki. I've been trying to reverse-engineer how XBMC 11 and now 12 manage music video library, reading through skin and scraper xml, etc, but it's hard going (for me, anyway).

scott s.
.
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-19 22:44 by scott967.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,691
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #33
Okay, this thread is about the upgrading to v12 FAQ. If nothing in music videos has changed between v11 and v12 then nothing about music videos needs to be in this FAQ.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
scott967 Offline
Fan
Posts: 641
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #34
(2012-11-20 04:36)Ned Scott Wrote:  Okay, this thread is about the upgrading to v12 FAQ. If nothing in music videos has changed between v11 and v12 then nothing about music videos needs to be in this FAQ.

Well, point in fact it seems like in Frodo I now get folder.jpg on music video in the library, where in Eden I get auto thumbnail in info views.

scott s.
.
find quote
ALWalters Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
Hi I upgraded to Frodo beta yesterday, I am a windows user with Aeon 3.6 skin. I use bannerplex view for my TV shows and after updating it does not show the banner art on the bannerplex screen. It has correctly found (and used) all my other chosen fan art for the shows and looking at the info shows the banner art is there, it is just not being used. My Movies and Music have all updated without issue. By trying to fix this manually all I've managed to do is get the poster art crammed in the banner area (I undid this by going to no art on the poster for the show I tried this with). Any help would be appreciated.
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-20 13:00 by ALWalters.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,691
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #36
Aeon would need to be updated for Frodo to work correctly, in this situation.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
ALWalters Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
I should have known it was something simple I forgot to do. Thanks for your reply.
find quote
QyuBurt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
I am very new to the XBMC scene and am running Eden 11.0. I would like to upgrade to Frodo for the live TV features and to get TV running through my XBMC. My worry is that I have all my movies, tv shows, music and even 10 or 11 console emulators, as well as custom skin work, running off my current XBMC and am worried that if I upgrade to a new build all my settings will be reset =/ If I upgrade, will I need to start from scratch? Thanks for all the hard work XBMC is the most amazing program I have ever stumbled upon.
find quote
jjd-uk Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,111
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 61
Post: #39
(2012-11-22 01:38)QyuBurt Wrote:  I am very new to the XBMC scene and am running Eden 11.0. I would like to upgrade to Frodo for the live TV features and to get TV running through my XBMC. My worry is that I have all my movies, tv shows, music and even 10 or 11 console emulators, as well as custom skin work, running off my current XBMC and am worried that if I upgrade to a new build all my settings will be reset =/ If I upgrade, will I need to start from scratch? Thanks for all the hard work XBMC is the most amazing program I have ever stumbled upon.
You won't need to start from scratch however to be safe I'd recommend you make a backup copy of your Userdata folder so if the worst happens you can easily go back to how you were. The only thing from your list that might not work is the custom skin depending on what you mean by this.
find quote
getafix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
To upgrade from Eden to Frodo, must I uninstall Eden firtst or can I install over?

Also, I am running Mysql for a centralized database, will anything need to be changed there?

Thanks
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,691
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #41
You can install Frodo right on top of Eden.

Really the only thing MySQL users should change is if they use pathsubs for thumbnails: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1239326

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,354
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #42
You can install over

see http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...nux#Ubuntu

xvba ppa is not official but it offers packages with a wider and better video driver range and better playback (since it has Nvidia vdpau improvements or if you use ATI it supports that better than official ppa)

idk about mysql though all the xbmc version you have will need to be same to use it.

uNi
find quote
mfaine Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
(2012-11-18 21:11)artrafael Wrote:  
(2012-11-18 19:33)nichaeld Wrote:  Is it possible to downgrade to Eden? I can't launch XBMC, not sure if because of this or because I installed Plex
This is off-topic for this thread. Best to search for an existing thread that addresses this or post a new thread asking this question.
Or see topic 1.6 in the Frodo FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...o%29%20FAQ

Just to let the author know, "encase" should be "in case" on the question referenced above in the FAQ.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,691
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 266
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #44
The updating notes for MySQL users is now done: HOW-TO:Sync multiple libraries/Upgrading XBMC to v12

Thoughts? Anything missing or should be changed?

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,354
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 135
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #45
Looks good, perhaps the backup addon could be mentioned, as long as its maintained.

other than that looks fine to me.

great work Ned.
Thank you for fixing that page tittle for me Ned.

uNi
(This post was last modified: 2012-11-25 10:51 by uNiversal.)
find quote
Post Reply