Crazy Slowness. RaspBMC...
Just installed my new Pi with RaspBMC the other day. Everything about it is incredibly slow. I had read that the menu system was slow but it's painfully slow to even scroll through my movies.

When I go from one movie to the next, it takes 10-20 seconds for the new box art and background image to load. Is this normal? Is there anything I can do to fix this as it's pretty unusable right now.

Even when I did a library update, it took hours and hours to go and I only have 300 or so movies. I'm debating using MediaCompanion to do the scraping but am not sure if that would make XBMCs scraping just look to the local folders or how that really works.

Anyway, I'm new to XBMC and to the Raspberry Pi so any help would be great with the slowness of loading the images and things would be great.

Thanks.
What speed is your SD card? Have you tried OpenELEC or XBian as well? Have you checked out the performance tips on Raspberry Pi FAQ (wiki)?
Card is a class 6, 4gig card.

Haven't tried the others. Do they work the same way? Any major difference? Does OpenElec have a nice installed like Rasp? I don't know much about linux so can't install anything by hand.

The performance tips I saw seemed to be based on video playback and I'm not even getting that far.
They're all pretty much the same. Initial browsing is slow as that's when the artwork is cached, afterwards it should speed up some, try some overclocking. It's never going to be a replacement for a PC but it makes a decent low power Media Center for the cost of a dinner out.
If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
Running it from a faster SD card, or even just using the SD card to boot and running XBMC from a USB drive, could speed things up. Sadly I can't test any of this out or help with instructions until my replacement Pi (old one died) gets here in... oh wait, just two days (I've been waiting so long, I thought they'd never come :D )