Windows - HOW TO - Solve audio problems + video stutter (audio induced)

  Thread Rating:
  • 9 Votes - 4.11 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jjd-uk Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,410
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 51
Post: #721
Is there anyway to check on the AVR the number of channels received? sometimes there's a gui info display or failing that on the front panel display of the AVR there's a speaker layout display.

You can't rely on the OSD because ffmpeg is used to provide that info, however it can only do that for formats it can decode, since it can't decode the full DTS-HD it only sees the DTS 5.1 core. Note that this is a GUI reporting issue only and has no effect on passing through the full DTS-HD 7.1 where decoding is done on the AVR. TrueHD reports as 7.1 because ffmpeg does have a decoder for this format.
find quote
mookieman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #722
(2014-04-10 15:05)jjd-uk Wrote:  Is there anyway to check on the AVR the number of channels received? sometimes there's a gui info display or failing that on the front panel display of the AVR there's a speaker layout display.

You can't rely on the OSD because ffmpeg is used to provide that info, however it can only do that for formats it can decode, since it can't decode the full DTS-HD it only sees the DTS 5.1 core. Note that this is a GUI reporting issue only and has no effect on passing through the full DTS-HD 7.1 where decoding is done on the AVR. TrueHD reports as 7.1 because ffmpeg does have a decoder for this format.
Ah so it is the GUI not reporting the correct number of channels. I'm afraid there's no way of checking if the number of channels receiving via the AVR. I did try to untick all the channels except the centre pair in Sound/Properties but all the channels are still coming through. No big deal, I'm getting passthrough at least and probably getting 7.1 on DTS-HD as well.
Thanks for your help on this, I'm sure at some stage that ffmpeg will be updated so it it reports the correct number of channels on DTS-HD, will keep an eye on it every so often.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 2,410
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 51
Post: #723
Yep if AVR is reporting DTS-HD and not plain DTS you should be getting the 7.1 as we do nothing to the channels in passthrough mode.

What AVR is it you've got? I'd be surprised if there's no way to check just for sanity purposes.
find quote
mookieman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #724
(2014-04-10 16:43)jjd-uk Wrote:  Yep if AVR is reporting DTS-HD and not plain DTS you should be getting the 7.1 as we do nothing to the channels in passthrough mode.

What AVR is it you've got? I'd be surprised if there's no way to check just for sanity purposes.

It's actually a headphones AVR. It's wonderful for blasting really loud without disturbing the neighbours in a flat.
Found out about it at AVS Forums http://www.avsforum.com/t/1357511/sony-m...headphones
Hmmph when I bought them they had to be imported from Japan as Sony didn't sell them anywhere else. Reading the last page of that thread what do I see but a link to an upgraded model on sale in Europe from April. Ah well I still love the ones I have now be a while before I'll need an upgrade. Once I go 4K and that'll be a couple of years probably.

Once again thanks for your help on this
find quote
lucca45 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #725
when i airplay the video is gray help?
find quote
allvidguy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #726
Can someone shed some light on what I am seeing with my setup:

So I have XMBC running on my Windows 8 laptop which is connected to my Onkyo TX-SR605 by HDMI and from the AVR to my LG 65" by HDMI. When I stream a 1080p movie that has DTS-HD 5.1 audio my Onkyo display will show it as "Multich" with a "PCM" being lighted up at the top. When I hit my display button for the AVR and cycle thru the info it shows it as being 5.1 with 48Khz audio. When I watch a movie in 720p that has Dolby Digital 5.1 (AC3 5.1) my AVR will show it as "Dolby D" with red Dolby Digital symbol lighting up above it and again cycling through the display it too will show it as 5.1. This is typically what I see when I'm watching my local HD channels, movies and shows on cable channels that are HD, etc.

So from this behavior should I infer that for DD 5.1 the audio is being bitstreamed and handled on the AVR end of it while DTS-HD or even True-HD will not be encoded on the AVR end, but on the XMBC side (or blu-ray player) and sent over as PCM 5.1? Just wondering why my AVR does not show it as DTS-HD on the display (similar to showing it for AC3 5.1) instead of showing it as Multich/PCM?
find quote
TRaSH Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Holland, The Netherlands
Post: #727
Does your laptop support those audio formats ?
Did you enable passthrough in xbmc ?
Perhaps a Debug log

Windows 7, 64-bit | XBMC Frodo | Aeon Nox | MONEUAL 320B | Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 661 | Sapphire HD 6570 1GB DDR3
Onkyo TX-SR875 | Teufel System 5 THX Cinema 5.1
HP Microserver N40L WHS 2011 8TB
[Image: all-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
allvidguy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #728
(2014-04-17 23:58)TRaSH Wrote:  Does your laptop support those audio formats ?
Did you enable passthrough in xbmc ?
Perhaps a Debug log

Yes laptop does support those formats. For "passthrough output device" selected as "WASAPI-HDMI..." Is there another setting that I need to be aware to set?
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 01:35 by allvidguy.)
find quote
steelman1991 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,314
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 7
Post: #729
Move further down the Audio settings and make sure both DTS-HD and TrueHD capable are checked.
find quote
allvidguy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #730
(Yesterday 11:04)steelman1991 Wrote:  Move further down the Audio settings and make sure both DTS-HD and TrueHD capable are checked.

Those are checked as well. Well I did some more testing and for movies that are 720p and either Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS it will pass through and on my ONKYO it will show "Dolby D" or "DTS'. It seems like when I'm playing a 1080p movie with DTS-HD it will give me the "Multich" indication with "PCM" lightining up, but will show it as 5.1 and 48KHz when I cycle thru the display. Will that be normal for DTS-HD or True-HD?
find quote
Post Reply