[RELEASE] CU LRC Lyrics

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,153
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #16
(2012-12-13 16:11)a2wistd2 Wrote:  I've been using the LRC plugin, which worked fine, but a few wishes. One of which would be to be able to have it try to find another version of the lyrics incase you chose the wrong one. I've had it when I get a whole long list of files to choose from, I select the first one and the lyrics are right, just the timing is way off but I have no way of selecting another.
that should still be possible:
mouse: right-click on the lyrics
keyboard: 'm'
remote: 'menu'
this should bring up a list of lyrics (if there's more than one available)

the default skin included in the addon will display an icon and the number of available lyrics,
whenever multiple lyrics are available.

(2012-12-13 16:11)a2wistd2 Wrote:  Also, why can't we save it to the same place the mp3 is with the same name? my naming convention is track number - song name. The plugin just saves song name in a different folder.

no idea really, maybe taxigps knows if there's a specific reason for this.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
taxigps Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 446
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #17
(2012-12-13 16:28)ronie Wrote:  
(2012-12-13 16:11)a2wistd2 Wrote:  Also, why can't we save it to the same place the mp3 is with the same name? my naming convention is track number - song name. The plugin just saves song name in a different folder.

no idea really, maybe taxigps knows if there's a specific reason for this.

Save to the same place the mp3 is will make mistake with tracks in ape/cue.
find quote
a2wistd2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
I pressed "M" and got nothing. So it is my skin that wont allow it? I'm using Aeon Mq4


"
Save to the same place the mp3 is will make mistake with tracks in ape/cue." Not sure what this means?
find quote
taxigps Offline
Team-XBMC Python Developer
Posts: 446
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #19
(2012-12-14 16:21)a2wistd2 Wrote:  I pressed "M" and got nothing. So it is my skin that wont allow it? I'm using Aeon Mq4
This action only work when source is some scrape, not from file or embedded.

(2012-12-14 16:21)a2wistd2 Wrote:  "
Save to the same place the mp3 is will make mistake with tracks in ape/cue." Not sure what this means?
several song in the same ape file, so you save which song's lyric to lrc file as the same name with ape file?
find quote
schumi2004 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,297
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #20
I'll be probably doing something wrong but can't get the script to find any lyrics at all.

I tried it with Xperience1080, MQ4 and default Confluence in Frodo RC1.

Any ideas?

Edit:
Enabling use file name doesn't seem to work, when it was disabled it worked.
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-16 17:46 by schumi2004.)
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #21
I can reproduce the lyrics from the previous song still showing during searching. It's especially noticeable when it finally lands on using the lyrics from the file. This can take 30 seconds plus to happen. I think it would be help in the GUI and very helpful for me in the info label if you could put something up when it's searching. I'm thinking "..." then it doesn't need any language stuff.

Thanks for the help so far and https://github.com/frolick/AWX-Eden/commits/frodo if anyone wants to give it a go as is.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,153
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #22
(2012-12-16 18:42)Mizaki Wrote:  I can reproduce the lyrics from the previous song still showing during searching. It's especially noticeable when it finally lands on using the lyrics from the file. This can take 30 seconds plus to happen. I think it would be help in the GUI and very helpful for me in the info label if you could put something up when it's searching. I'm thinking "..." then it doesn't need any language stuff.

Thanks for the help so far and https://github.com/frolick/AWX-Eden/commits/frodo if anyone wants to give it a go as is.

i made some changes and it should be a bit better.

it will not work in all cases, if you skip to the next track
while the script is still busy pre-fetching lyrics
we can't clear the previous lyrics.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #23
Okay, thanks. I think I've covered it. It's a difficult thing to test in some ways.

Just noticed. Can you put "No lyrics found" in the info label? I'm assume blank means searching atm.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-20 00:27 by Mizaki.)
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #24
Also, last thing (I hope). Is it possible to prevent multiple instances? I check for the running info label but sometimes I still end up running the script again and again. Probably a good check to do anyway?

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,153
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #25
(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  Also, last thing (I hope). Is it possible to prevent multiple instances?
i'm not aware of any reliable way to do that...

(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  I check for the running info label but sometimes I still end up running the script again and again.
well, why does that happen?

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,218
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 162
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #26
(2012-12-22 23:38)ronie Wrote:  
(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  Also, last thing (I hope). Is it possible to prevent multiple instances?
i'm not aware of any reliable way to do that...

(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  I check for the running info label but sometimes I still end up running the script again and again.
well, why does that happen?

Make a running flag that is checked on start maybe ?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,153
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #27
(2012-12-22 23:42)Martijn Wrote:  
(2012-12-22 23:38)ronie Wrote:  
(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  Also, last thing (I hope). Is it possible to prevent multiple instances?
i'm not aware of any reliable way to do that...

(2012-12-22 23:27)Mizaki Wrote:  I check for the running info label but sometimes I still end up running the script again and again.
well, why does that happen?

Make a running flag that is checked on start maybe ?
what, if for some reason, the script crashes?
it can't clear the running flag in that case.

which would prevent the user to use the script again until xbmc is restarted.

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,218
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 162
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #28
Hmm indeed

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #29
Why does it do it? Not sure, it's random and I've not managed to catch it yet. It checks the info label and if it's not "true" it executes the script. So best guess is the info label != "true", it waits 3 secs and tries again.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #30
(2012-12-22 23:38)ronie Wrote:  what, if for some reason, the script crashes?
it can't clear the running flag in that case.

which would prevent the user to use the script again until xbmc is restarted.

You could ask if they are sure they wish to run it again.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
Post Reply