Linux - Frodo - No sound after resume from suspend

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bahman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
(2013-01-20 16:14)Martijn Wrote:  Next try with Memphiz's patch in:

Thanks Martijn - tried the build with Memphiz's patch in it but unfortunately no luck.

Still no sound on resume.

Tried the ION 64bit build.
find quote
SkyHead Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
I am having the same problems as listed above. I can pause\resume and sound still works but I can't turn my Intel system on and off, as I get this error in the systems menu
Audio output device : Error - no devices found
Passthrough output device : Error no Devices found.

Is there an estimate on this fix?
How do I install the patches?

I'm no expert when it comes to linux\live
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-21 00:31 by SkyHead.)
find quote
ixnu Offline
Donor
Posts: 151
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 19
Post: #33
Works for me!

However, a new problem: suspend now resets the refresh rate to 60hz upon resume. A reboot/shutdown keeps correct 23.97.

OpenElec Generic ( r12963 )
Socket 1156 i3 540
Asus GT430
Analog sound 2.0 via Spdif to Yamaha
HDMI video

Let me know if you need logs.

Refresh solved with this:
http://openelec.tv/forum/67-display/4353...esume#5616
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-21 04:59 by ixnu.)
find quote
ixnu Offline
Donor
Posts: 151
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 19
Post: #34
I must say that this is a remarkable build.

Perfect audio sync, suspend has been working for a dozen cycles, and plugins are flawless. Thanks for the build.
find quote
Wraul Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
I'm still experiencing lack of sound after waking from suspend.

I managed to capture this in a log

These two lines might be of interest

Code:
17:18:15 T:139888487143168    INFO: CAESinkALSA::HandleError(snd_pcm_wait) - Resuming after suspend
17:18:15 T:139888487143168    INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: pcm_hw.c:709:(snd_pcm_hw_resume) SNDRV_PCM_IOCTL_RESUME failed (-38): Function not implemented

This doesn't happen on every resume and I only have to restart XBMC for the sound to return, no need for a reboot.
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,030
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #36
perhaps ixnu and Wraul can check which ALSA kernal they are running?

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find quote
dave- Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
I had noticed no audio via HDMI on resume from suspend recently and google landed me here. My Asrock ION330 on first resume (after being suspended for 24hrs etc) had no audio. My wake script loads mythtv-frontend first, I switch to XBMC as required. Audio doesn't work on either which makes me think its not application related.

If I suspend the machine again and resume it immediately, audio then works. I've also observed that my Marantz amp registers an audio device on this second resume via HDMI and the sub turns on.

I never checked the status of my devices using 'aplay -l' in the first resume state but the amp definitely did not register any audio device at that time. I thought it might have been a faulty HDMI cable at first.

FWIW, I'm running Archlinux and XBMC 11, haven't updated the machine in probably 4-5 months. Don't recall specific kernel/alsa/nvidia versions etc but can confirm when I check the output of aplay after the first resume later today.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 05:03 by dave-.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,307
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 154
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #38
We added another fix. See if that one works out:
FRODO versions!

OpenELEC-ION.x86_64

OpenELEC-Intel.x86_64

OpenELEC-Generic.i386

OpenELEC-Fusion.x86_64

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
bahman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
Thanks Martijn for your efforts - ION 64bit Build - unfortunately still not working.

Same issue - no sound on resume.
find quote
ixnu Offline
Donor
Posts: 151
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 19
Post: #40
(2013-01-23 04:23)DDDamian Wrote:  perhaps ixnu and Wraul can check which ALSA kernal they are running?


OpenELEC Version: devel-20130120050629-r12963
OpenELEC git: 85bb4ee43ad03925475ceeaab52900958175c4d8
...
root ~ # cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.25.
root ~ # uname -a
Linux openelec 3.6.11 #1 SMP Fri Jan 18 11:40:51 PST 2013 i686 GNU/Linux
root ~ #
root ~ # aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC889 Analog [ALC889 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC889 Digital [ALC889 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
find quote
tlund Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #41
Hello

I am currently running the ION.x86_64-devel-20130120051843-r12963 on my Shuttle XS35GT v2 and I am sorry to report that the problem persists for me.

I would also like to report a different symptom that I have not seen anyone else report. I have 3 different scenarios when waking the device up from sleep

1: Sound works - yes, sometimes the sound just works when it comes up from suspend
2: No sound at all
3: Sound and Video - but very jerky, both audio and video stutters and freezes. Attached below is from the log file for one of these instances.

Other notes: output of "aplay -l" does not change after waking from suspend.

Will continue to most more info as I do more testing.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-23 21:36 by Martijn.)
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team-XBMC
Posts: 10,307
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 154
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #42
I removed the log spam which you are not allowed to post directly on the forum.
First read this more carefully!!! Debug Log

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
tlund Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #43
(Sorry, I will put it on pastebin the next time Smile

While I was writing the post above, my htpc suspended again (I have it set to 5 minutes for testing right now).

When I woke it up and tried playing a file, sound worked for me again. Interesting.

reboot -> sound -> suspend/wake -> stuttering -> suspened/wake -> sound.
find quote
SkyHead Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
Does the sound work on any of the previous RC's?
find quote
tlund Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #45
My previous version was some nightly build from 2012-07, somewhere around r116xx where sound worked fine.
find quote
Post Reply