Win Autostart addon on xbmc start up
Hi All,

I am new to xbmc so be patient with me please Smile

I installed xbmc eden and xsqueeze on windows7 everything works well except one thing.
I would like xsqueeze to run in the background on start up, without user intervention.
I tried creating autoexec.py script with the following lines:
import xbmc
xbmc.RunAddon(script.xsqueeze)
as suggested in this thread
but i got "script failed error".

Below is truncated xbmc.log

Thanks in advance
You need to use:

Code:
xbmc.executebuiltin("RunAddon(script.xsqueeze)")

Also autoexec.py is probably going to be phased out at some point since scripts can be set up to be created to start automatically(ie service addons)

(2012-12-10, 04:03)giftie Wrote: You need to use:

Code:
xbmc.executebuiltin("RunAddon(script.xsqueeze)")

Also autoexec.py is probably going to be phased out at some point since scripts can be set up to be created to start automatically(ie service addons)

Thanks a lot! It worked.
How to autostart LiveTV or LiveStreams addon on xbmc start-up using autoexec.py? Thanks.
Thanks everyone. Just figured it out. The code should be:

For LiveTV:
import xbmc
xbmc.executebuiltin("RunAddon(plugin.video.LiveTV)")

For LiveStreams:
import xbmc
xbmc.executebuiltin("RunAddon(plugin.video.live.streams)")
(2013-09-07, 09:26)tony03 Wrote: Thanks everyone.
Glad I could have helped. Wink
Hello,
I know this post is quite old however I could not find better human friendly answer about how to make add-on turn on while xbmc is starting.
However for a person with limited knowledge about xbmc and scripts I would be more then happy if someone could kindly tell me where I should put that script... sort of guide in few steps. I am running xbmc-buntu Gotham.
Could you please tell me where I should add this script: xbmc.executebuiltin("RunAddon(script.xsqueeze)")
do I have to create txt file and save this script there? if yes what I should name file like and in what folder I should save?