XBMC freezing often. Crashing

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dudeabides Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Exclamation  XBMC freezing often. Crashing
Post: #1
First of all, i'm on a Mac running 10.7.5
I have an ATV2 with 5.0.1 and i'm running the most recent update of Eden 11.
I'm also running aeon nox skin.

Currently all my files are saying they can't be found even after library updates so i'm creating a new source because thats worked in the past.
But now I've been noticing frequent "bugs" when i try to do certain things.

It freezes all the time, sometimes just for moving the cursur to the left, and whenever i try to change view types, colors, the filter, etc..
and the biggest problems for me right now is it won't let me add another source.
But whenever I go to Add Source and that freezes too!

So currently I'm stuck with no working videos and I'm unable to load another source.
Any ideas?

P.S. It's late. The debug log will wait, i'll post it tomorrow.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,219
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 114
Location: germany
Post: #2
Do these problems occur when using the default confluence skin too?

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,606
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #3
My guess it's Aeon Nox related and they can't find why it freezes xbmc. Since Frodo will be released soon no work has been put into solving that anymore.
Besides running Aeon Nox is a too heavy skin for atv2.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-16 14:51 by Martijn.)
find quote
dudeabides Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2012-12-16 14:50)Martijn Wrote:  My guess it's Aeon Nox related and they can't find why it freezes xbmc. Since Frodo will be released soon no work has been put into solving that anymore.
Besides running Aeon Nox is a too heavy skin for atv2.

I've noticed that myself and have since switch to confluence.
Overall the GUI system works better, but I'm having issues with connectivity.

When it's connected thru wi-fi, it stops after an episode and a half (give or take) and returns me to ATV Home Screen.
When I run it thru ethernet (really just wifi from desktop connected with ethernet cable + internet sharing) it will usually play all the selections i want without messing up, but now regardlesss of what I try it crashes.

I'm not very good with log files, but i get the pastebin stuff.
Someone inform me quickly how to get a hold of my log file
find quote
jd2157 Offline
Fan
Posts: 642
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Nova Scotia
Post: #5
It's all in the stickies at the top of the forum...
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,219
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 114
Location: germany
Post: #6
debug log

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
fido5150 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I use Metropolis on my ATV2 (though still running Eden) and it works great, if you want a non-Confluence option.
find quote
dudeabides Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Currently I'm finding that using confluence with ethernet is pretty much perfect. Aesthetically I don't care.
Although I'm having issues with trying to use a constant source.
I'm really only able to connect to the shared folders with the zeroconf setting, but the location changes after a day and it can no longer connect and I have to select it all over again.

I gave up on trying to use the built in movies and tv, I load it from Video > files every time, but overall a quick process.
Is there a way to fix that? I'd like to be able to use the different home options at the very least
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,219
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 114
Location: germany
Post: #9
Give your nas or whatever i serving your files a static ip and avoid upnp - that will fix the source and you can scrspe the media for getting it into your database.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-23 11:58 by Memphiz.)
find quote