RPi2 + OpenELEC + Time Machine?
Hi!

I'm new to the wonderful world of Kodi and Rasberri Pi, but I'm loving everything about it so far.

My dream would be to be able to run Time Machine backups from my mac to a USB-HDD connected to the Pi, while running OpenELEC and doing Transmission downloads and viewing files from a separate USB-HDD, also connected to the Pi.

With my limited knowledge, I've been able to get the openelec up and running, as well as the transmission transfers to the other HD. However, I have not found a way to get my mac to recognize the Time Machine HDD. I've read about needing Netatalk, can that program be installed on OpenELEC? Or do i need to install Kodi on Raspbian and run Netatalk and Kodi on that platform? Is that even possible?

If anyone knows how to make all of this work at the same time, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Greetings from Sweden,
Daniel
Hi!
I'm thinking to buy a Raspberry Pi and an attached HD just to do the same as you were trying to solve. Torrents, time machine, mediacenter with kodi,.
Did you ruled out how to configure it?
I'm completely newbie (I don't even have the raspberry Pi). Openelec works?

Thanks in advance from Barcelona!
Hello Barcelona!

I have a wonderful setup for torrents and on the Pi running openelec. I even set up a VPN so i can be anonymous online. :-)

However, i can't find info on how to run a mac-formatted HDD in OpenElec. It seems it's not possible. I'm thinking of getting a second Pi and run Rasbian OS and use that for Time Machine purposes.

It all boils down to OpenElecs limitations regarding different formats of hdds.

If you find out some way to make it work, let me now. In the meantime i'm treating myself to a second pi to use as a time machine.

Good luck! And let me now if you need help with anything. I can point uou to some helpful articles online.

Cheers!
Oh yeah, not being able to run apples network protocol in openelec is not helping either :-)