Linux How to install MythTV backend on xbmcbuntu
Hi folks. I am very new to Linux and am really struggling on how to get the backend of MythTV onto my xbmcbuntu system (God knows why Linux can't have installers like Windows or Mac!).

I have tried going to https://apps.ubuntu.com/cat/applications...ol-centre/ and clicking on the link to install the control centre but that just comes up with a new blank page. I have also tried the Synaptic Package Manager but there is no listing for MythTV.

I know I should be able to enter a command for apt-get but don't know that that is either.

Find it all very confusing and have no idea what to try next. I have tried following the guides but nothing seems to work.

Thanks for your help in advance. Please excuse the lack of Linux knowledge....
Hey mate I'm currently trying to setup mythtv on xbmcbuntu and here is what I have done to get where I am up to

Open up console/ssh in and type
sudo apt-get install mythtv

Follow the prompts to setup the MySQL db and acl rules

Log out of xbmc (power button down the left hand side )
Click orb>system tools mythtv backend settings
And customise to suit ure location hardware etc

This is where I got stuck. My tv tuner is a Sony playtv after recommendations from other forums however it seems its not fully recognised for some reason. I think I'm close to figuring it out as I believe it's just a case of missing firmware/drivers but if anyone has any tips let me know (Il create my own thread soon)

Enough thread high jacking! Good luck!
Actually you are probably better to

sudo apt-get install mythbuntu-control-centre, then run the control centre and install what bits you want from there.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
I concur with nickr.