Geniatech ATV1200 and XBMC hardware decoding

  Thread Rating:
  • 17 Votes - 3.82 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
themighty Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1321
I haven't used my box for months now but thought it would be a good idea to update it and give it another go. Can someone post a link to the latest firmware and which XBMC version is the best to use?

Thanks!
find quote
sonofdibnah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1322
(2014-08-25 16:50)dgcruzing Wrote:  New beta 1080p kernel...
http://www.mygica.ca/forum/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=1762

Tried this but I found that it would not cope with dolby digital transcoding of 5.1 aac sound in 1080p videos. The sound would disconnect from my receiver causing short outages. More than annoying so I backed it out by reloading the android 4.2. files. I should have checked 5.1.aac sound on other video resolutions but I backed the change out before thinking of it. As others have said there is no playstore in this kernel.

Hope this helps anyone thinking of trying it.
find quote
themighty Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1323
(2014-08-31 20:50)themighty Wrote:  I haven't used my box for months now but thought it would be a good idea to update it and give it another go. Can someone post a link to the latest firmware and which XBMC version is the best to use?

Thanks!

Anyone?
find quote
atv2jber Offline
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #1324
@themighty,

Go to the mygica forums. For the ATV1200 go here: http://mygica.ca/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1570

Once you have done the firmware update, remove XBMC via Settings->App. The version in that firmware is Frodo 12.2.

Go to xbmc.org/download and download the ARM version of XBMC Android. Install that apk and you will have the latest stable version of XBMC (as of this post it's Gotham 13.2).

Works like a charm on the ATV520E. I expect the same to be true on the ATV1200.

Enjoy.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-11 16:49 by atv2jber.)
find quote
thebearnecessit Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 815
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #1325
Can't remember what firmware I've put on mine. It says in xbmc system info "xbmc 13.2 got:20140817-0f3db05 (compiled Aug 17 2014)".

But the Firmware is great. And gives you a whole new android home screen which looks great on the TV unlike standard android ones.

Plus I'm using an app from the play store called xbmc launcher so the box boots straight into xbmc. I've only lost my skin settings once. But I have xbmc backup running every night so I just get the guisettings.XML file from the backup and copy it into its proper place.

I've just started downloading the official (android arm) xbmc downloads.

skin called CCM is the best I've found.
find quote
Post Reply