Change channel really slow

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
krycek Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #46
Is it possible to get the "fix" into and OpenElec system?
find quote
macardi Online
Senior Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Sweden
Post: #47
Thanks for your work on this, it works great.

One issue though, I'm using "Adjust display refresh rate to match video (On start/stop)". So when I start Live TV it changes from 60Hz to 50Hz. With this build the refresh rate switch does not occur instantly. When I start Live TV the channel starts playing but the refresh rate change takes a couple of seconds to kick in resulting in a black screen for a second when the refresh rate change occur. This also happens every time I change the channel from the Timeline EPG, but not if I change the channel from the "PVRChannelsOSD"
find quote
Dakkar Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
(2013-03-24 20:38)margro Wrote:  @Dakkar: the change is not specific for the MediaPortal PVR addon, so there is a good chance that it will also work for DVBViewer. Just try it and report back if it works or not. All standard PVR addons are included in this build.
Tested.
I must say I cannot see any improvement.
But, to be honest, I was already quite happy with DVBViewer (ca. 2 secs here).

Dakkar
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,306
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #49
(2013-03-24 21:22)macardi Wrote:  Thanks for your work on this, it works great.

One issue though, I'm using "Adjust display refresh rate to match video (On start/stop)". So when I start Live TV it changes from 60Hz to 50Hz. With this build the refresh rate switch does not occur instantly. When I start Live TV the channel starts playing but the refresh rate change takes a couple of seconds to kick in resulting in a black screen for a second when the refresh rate change occur. This also happens every time I change the channel from the Timeline EPG, but not if I change the channel from the "PVRChannelsOSD"

That's a different story. On h.264 streams fps is not necessarily coded in the parameters which can be parsed. Either you know it in advance or you measure it. Since we skip find_stream_info now, we postpone detection until video player measures it.
find quote
BenAtNVS Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
so cool !!!! work very fine for me: argus server + win 7 client.
timeshifting ok. thank for this big fix.
find quote
loggio Offline
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 6
Post: #51
I tested this quickly this morning.

- Media Portal - Was Quicker
- ArgusTV - No difference.... still 3 sec roughly
- NextPVR - No different, still stlow and actually locked up on channel change.
- DVBViewer - No difference. But i think dvbviewer works differently, so these ffmpeg changes may not take effect using DVBViewer.

Maybe i need to do a fresh install.

I'll have to test again later in the week as i'm away for work now, won't be back for a few days.


Thanks guys,
Loggio.
find quote
username145 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #52
Regarding NPVR: http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?5...ange-speed
find quote
sub3 Offline
Fan
Posts: 365
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #53
(2013-03-25 00:28)loggio Wrote:  - NextPVR - No different, still stlow and actually locked up on channel change.
Odd. It doesn't sound like you've installed this new build, because this new build made a huge difference with NextPVR. My channel changes are about a second now. I'd expect you'd see a very noticeable change as well. You probably want to be running the new 2.6.2 release.

What device are you using, and how long are you channel changes taking? If you're using a digital tuner like DVB-S/T/C or ATSC/QAM, then you should have noticed difference. I guess it could still be slow if you're using IR blasters to control a set top box, but it'd still have sped things up by several seconds.
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-25 02:32 by sub3.)
find quote
loggio Offline
Fan
Posts: 593
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 6
Post: #54
I'm using a USB dvb-t dual tuner. It works quite well. However, Sub3... I wouldn't worry too much about what i said earlier, i didn't give it much of a 'test' so to speak. Just a quick try, and they were the results. However, when i get back home at the end of the working week i'll definately be spending a lot of time with each backend and give proper results. i will do a complete fresh install of XBMC as well.

Cheers,
Loggio.
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-25 02:51 by loggio.)
find quote
akiaki Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
On my system with dvbviewer my channel changes are much faster. I was holding off on using pvr addon because of slow channel changes in addon vs dvbviewer but now its much faster for me, thanks!
find quote
username145 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #56
Ok found time to test with my mediaportal dvb-t setup. Working great so far, probably 4-5 sec between channels, about 2-3 seconds if switching to one on the same frequency as current. But does anyone else get "buffering" for a moment before playback starts?
find quote
margro Offline
Fan
Posts: 654
Joined: Oct 2009
Reputation: 21
Location: The Netherlands
Post: #57
I'm also getting a short buffering period with a USB DVB-T receiver and MediaPortal. I'm not seeing this with my DVB-C PCI card.

Developer of the MediaPortal PVR addon and the Argus-TV PVR-addon. Unofficial XBMC Windows builds with PVR.
http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg/xbmc
find quote
chrlau5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
Running MP 1.3 server with IPTV as TV sources. I get faster channel changes 3-5seconds, but 1-2 sec. with buffering it shows a picture from the channel, but playback does not start immediately could this be tweaked somehow? On my providers STB channel change is max 1 sec.. Mediaportal server running on same pc as XBMC. Great WORK!

Timeshifting on C-drive and it is a SSD

PC is Win 7 - 64bit - AMD X4 955BE slightly overclocked.
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-25 10:28 by chrlau5.)
find quote
username145 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #59
(2013-03-25 10:13)margro Wrote:  I'm also getting a short buffering period with a USB DVB-T receiver and MediaPortal. I'm not seeing this with my DVB-C PCI card.

My card is PCI if it matters. The buffering period is short so not a huge deal but its removal would be good for WAF
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,306
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #60
You can experiment with minaudiocachelevel and minvideocachelevel in advanced settings (pvr section). Those are responsible for the buffering. If those are too small a/v players may stall.
find quote
Post Reply