What would it take to write an XBMC Server?
Please note, I'm not asking for a feature or suggesting ideas. I'm a developer and want to try my hand at some code hacking, but am not familiar with XBMC code base. All I know is there have been major changes in Eden, Frodo etc so I'm trying to get an idea of the effort involved in the following -

- library (probably built on db like MySQL) with client server or p2p model
- protocol to fetch/update metadata
- sync and sync conflict resolution with multiple clients of library
- extensible schema to support future updates easily
- all using open protocols, not sure how secure it needs to be

For all I know a lot of this already exists in some form or the other. I'm trying to get an idea if this is a massive undertaking or if I could get something going quickly. A lot would also depend on how modular relevant sections of the code currently are.
If you're a c/c++ dev, then one option is to just take XBMC and rip out anything you don't need, leaving JSON-RPC, UPnP server, Databases, VFS, scanner etc. Basically you'd be removing the GUI side of it.

This would certainly be something we'd be interested in, and I suspect you'll get a helping hand.

Your comment about how modular things are will be the key - much of XBMC is not particularly modular, though there is moves to change that (e.g. settings, which is the main tentacle monster (and relies on the GUI) is currently being overhauled by Montellese).

Cheers,
Jonathan
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I am not sure if you have seen this thread? If not, it might be worth checking out as a starting point.
you might also wanna talk to topfs2 who is also thinking in your direction about having a small upnp/scraper/datas/json server app
Read/follow the forum rules.