Windows - HOW-TO setup Boblight for Windows and Boblight XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
TeKo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 964
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #106
Yea thats because you dont have LEDs at the bottom and I dont really check for that. (Going to fix that if I ever update it).

For now you can just create a config with 24, 39, 24.

If you change the channels and prefix by hand you probably mess up some lights because there are 2 lights missing in the file.
find quote
schumi2004 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #107
Anyone tried this on latest Gotham?
I installed latest Gotham but XBMC Boblight can't connect

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
ijourneaux Offline
Fan
Posts: 494
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 2
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Post: #108
Works for with one of the newest nightlies
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,097
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 27
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #109
Yep, no issue with Gotham here
find quote
LtMarx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #110
Tried here as well. Same error as rassv. Light pack does show up in the device manager as rassv shows on the screenshot after changing USB drivers.

Win 7 x64

Is this a bug in in the compiled boblightd.exe?
find quote
schumi2004 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #111
(2014-03-01 05:14)ijourneaux Wrote:  Works for with one of the newest nightlies

(2014-03-01 07:12)bossanova808 Wrote:  Yep, no issue with Gotham here

Yeah, it's working here also now.
Made a typo.

We can't have X11 with boblight windows right?
Tried LightPack and AmbiBox bot both are a crime to configure correctly, in all test done i didn't get a fluent effect like i get with boblight.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
rassv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #112
(2014-02-26 14:54)Krazed Wrote:  
(2014-02-24 18:26)rassv Wrote:  I have followed your guide @bossanova808, but boblight have trouble connecting to the USB driver. Windows detect LightPack when I plug in the USB port. But boblightd continues to write: “'\\.\USB#VID_1D50&PID_6022#95230303231351D04131' was only detected in late pass (newly connected device?) - ignoring”.

[Image: D2PiEdA.png]

My system is: ZBOXHD-ND22 with Windows 8.1 / 64bit
Any idea of how to fix it?

Had the same problem running it on my pc (Windows 8.1 / 64bit as well). I tried compiling boblight myself which seems to have fixed it though. The lights work but the colours aren't quite right for some reason, so I'll have a look into that tomorrow. Anyway, here is the copy of boblight that I compiled (as well as the cygwin dll's and bossanova808's conf file) if you want to give them a try: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a65t6ip4727it1b/boblightd.zip

Let me know how you go.
Thanks for the builded version, it now also work on my pc.
Some of my LightPack led strips are not rights, even though I have tested and calibrated with the Prismatik, will look at boblight.conf file later.
find quote
rassv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #113
I have get my LightPack to work in XBMC with all lights/colors in sync.
I have use the Prismatik to ensure that all my LED stripes are located the right places. (In the software it called: "Appearance of grab widgets - Colored") - i have too switch the numbers 7,8 and 9 in the control/lightpack box.
After that I have used this movie (http://sdrv.ms/1c0qquo) for writing the right boblight.conf file for Andromeda setup.

Hope this can help other with LightPack Wink

Code:
[global]

[device]
name LP1
channels 30
type lightpack
interval 20000
debug on
#bus 1
#address 6
#debug true

[color]
name red
rgb FF0000

[color]
name green
rgb 00FF00

[color]
name blue
rgb 0000FF


[light]
name 1
color red LP1 28
color green LP1 29
color blue LP1 30
hscan 25 37.5
vscan 75 100

[light]
name 2
color red LP1 25
color green LP1 26
color blue LP1 27
hscan 0 16.67
vscan 50 75

[light]
name 3
color red LP1 22
color green LP1 23
color blue LP1 24
hscan 0 16.67
vscan 25 50

[light]
name 4
color red LP1 19
color green LP1 20
color blue LP1 21
hscan 16.67 33.32
vscan 0 16.67

[light]
name 5
color red LP1 16
color green LP1 17
color blue LP1 18
hscan 33.32 50
vscan 0 16.67

[light]
name 6
color red LP1 4
color green LP1 5
color blue LP1 6
hscan 50 66.67
vscan 0 16.67

[light]
name 7
color red LP1 1
color green LP1 2
color blue LP1 3
hscan 66.67 83.33
vscan 0 16.67

[light]
name 8
color red LP1 7
color green LP1 8
color blue LP1 9
hscan 83.33 100
vscan 25 50

[light]
name 9
color red LP1 10
color green LP1 11
color blue LP1 12
hscan 83.33 100
vscan 50 75

[light]
name 10
color red LP1 13
color green LP1 14
color blue LP1 15
hscan 62.5 75
vscan 75 100
find quote
Krazed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: New Zealand
Post: #114
(2014-03-01 14:56)rassv Wrote:  
(2014-02-26 14:54)Krazed Wrote:  Had the same problem running it on my pc (Windows 8.1 / 64bit as well). I tried compiling boblight myself which seems to have fixed it though. The lights work but the colours aren't quite right for some reason, so I'll have a look into that tomorrow. Anyway, here is the copy of boblight that I compiled (as well as the cygwin dll's and bossanova808's conf file) if you want to give them a try: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a65t6ip4727it1b/boblightd.zip

Let me know how you go.
Thanks for the builded version, it now also work on my pc.
Some of my LightPack led strips are not rights, even though I have tested and calibrated with the Prismatik, will look at boblight.conf file later.

The conf file in that download should be alright, it's the one I'm using atm. It's different from the original one I had in there (which was bossanovas original). All the hscan and vscan values are right for the andromeda pattern, but the position of the LEDs will only be right if you've switched the ports around for the 3-5 leds though.

I'm very confused with the hscan and vscan values you've used in your conf file, care to explain? If you're using andromeda (4 top, 2 left, 2 right, 2 bottom) shouldn't your top led hscans be 0 25, 25 50, 50 75, and 75 100? How come you start at 16.67? I guess you're not overlapping in the corners. Still 16.67 seems and odd number to set the height of your top zones, and the width of your side ones. Any reason for this?
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-04 03:46 by Krazed.)
find quote
Krazed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: New Zealand
Post: #115
Update on where I'm at with mine. I'm finding boblight runs a lot better, but doesn't seem to be picking up the colors from scenes as well as prismatik was. For example, some dark scenes are displaying with a bright orange sort colored backlight, which is very distracting. I hope a lot of this can be fixed with the boblight xbmc add-on's custom configuration, but I haven't had much of a chance to play around with the settings in that yet. Anyone have any recommended settings for those?

Edit: Just been playing around with these setting now. Bringing down the saturation in the add-on configuration makes a big difference. I've set it as 1 in my custom configuration (default for fast and slow is 3) and the colours are much better now.
Current settings I'm working with are:
Speed - 50
Autospeed - 0
Interpolation - off
Saturation - 1
Value - 10
Threshold - 10

Still needs a bit of tweaking, probably with both the above settings and the gamma + adjust modifiers in the boblight.conf file, but it's a start.

I have the conf file I ended up doing below. It's andromeda pattern as well (4 top, 2 left, 2 right and 2 bottom). 15% height on the top/bottom, 15% width left/right. Let me know if you see anything wrong with it. All the led positions are correct as long as you've switched around the ports that the 3, 4 and 5 leds are plugged in to (so that they correspond with the correct grab widgets in prismatik). I've got this conf file bundled with boblight (for x64) and the required dll's in this download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/a65t6ip4727it1b/boblightd.zip

boblight.conf file:
Code:
[global]

[device]
name LP1
channels 30
type lightpack
interval 20000

[color]
name red
rgb FF0000

[color]
name green
rgb 00FF00

[color]
name blue
rgb 0000FF

[light]
name led1
color red LP1 28
color green LP1 29
color blue LP1 30
hscan 0 50
vscan 85 100

[light]
name led2
color red LP1 25
color green LP1 26
color blue LP1 27
hscan 0 15
vscan 50 100

[light]
name led3
color red LP1 22
color green LP1 23
color blue LP1 24
hscan 0 15
vscan 0 50

[light]
name led4
color red LP1 19
color green LP1 20
color blue LP1 21
hscan 0 25
vscan 0 15

[light]
name led5
color red LP1 16
color green LP1 17
color blue LP1 18
hscan 25 50
vscan 0 15

[light]
name led6
color red LP1 4
color green LP1 5
color blue LP1 6
hscan 50 75
vscan 0 15

[light]
name led7
color red LP1 1
color green LP1 2
color blue LP1 3
hscan 75 100
vscan 0 15

[light]
name led8
color red LP1 7
color green LP1 8
color blue LP1 9
hscan 85 100
vscan 0 50

[light]
name led9
color red LP1 10
color green LP1 11
color blue LP1 12
hscan 85 100
vscan 50 100

[light]
name led10
color red LP1 13
color green LP1 14
color blue LP1 15
hscan 50 100
vscan 85 100
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-04 10:19 by Krazed.)
find quote
baseofdrum Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: NRW, Germany
Post: #116
(2014-03-04 04:01)Krazed Wrote:  Update on where I'm at with mine. I'm finding boblight runs a lot better, but doesn't seem to be picking up the colors from scenes as well as prismatik was. For example, some dark scenes are displaying with a bright orange sort colored backlight, which is very distracting. I hope a lot of this can be fixed with the boblight xbmc add-on's custom configuration, but I haven't had much of a chance to play around with the settings in that yet. Anyone have any recommended settings for those?

Edit: Just been playing around with these setting now. Bringing down the saturation in the add-on configuration makes a big difference. I've set it as 1 in my custom configuration (default for fast and slow is 3) and the colours are much better now.
Current settings I'm working with are:
Speed - 50
Autospeed - 0
Interpolation - off
Saturation - 1
Value - 10
Threshold - 10

Thank you for that, it's what i needed - will try it out asap , i didn't know what's wrong and why for example blue (dark or light ) is always in one color.
hope this helps. Smile

update: i tried this but the light went off Sad
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-04 22:20 by baseofdrum.)
find quote
Krazed Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: New Zealand
Post: #117
(2014-03-04 22:06)baseofdrum Wrote:  Thank you for that, it's what i needed - will try it out asap , i didn't know what's wrong and why for example blue (dark or light ) is always in one color.
hope this helps. Smile

update: i tried this but the light went off Sad
Strange. Lights went off, as in boblightd crashed, or the lights just didn't go? Try playing with the threshold value, set it at 0 and give that a go. It shouldn't have been a problem on 10, but see if putting it on 0 has any impact. Those settings are working perfectly for me. I've since lowered the value quite a lot to bring down the brightness a bit, but that's all.
find quote
baseofdrum Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: NRW, Germany
Post: #118
(2014-03-05 09:37)Krazed Wrote:  
(2014-03-04 22:06)baseofdrum Wrote:  Thank you for that, it's what i needed - will try it out asap , i didn't know what's wrong and why for example blue (dark or light ) is always in one color.
hope this helps. Smile

update: i tried this but the light went off Sad
Strange. Lights went off, as in boblightd crashed, or the lights just didn't go? Try playing with the threshold value, set it at 0 and give that a go. It shouldn't have been a problem on 10, but see if putting it on 0 has any impact. Those settings are working perfectly for me. I've since lowered the value quite a lot to bring down the brightness a bit, but that's all.

I'm not the only 1 with the problem - see here http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1641903
But it's only with the custom settings slow or fast works
find quote
schumi2004 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,054
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 9
Post: #119
Is there a way to have this working as a service or in shell mode using XBMCLauncher?
For some reason it doesn't seem to run/work when i run XBMC in shell.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
find quote
TeKo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 964
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #120
Im using a scheduled task if you set the trigger to system start it should work with xbmc as shell.
find quote
Post Reply