[MOD] Rapier 5.7.1 for XBMC 12.x Frodo!

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
VeNoMouSNZ Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #361
(2014-07-25 19:32)Gade Wrote:  
(2014-07-25 13:00)VeNoMouSNZ Wrote:  So Gade, been looking into the "Sort By" problems myself, it seems that Container.SetSortMethod(#) just doesn't do anything... how ever as a test

Code:
<label>$INFO[Container.SortMethod]</label>
<onclick>Container.NextSortMethod()</onclick>

Seems to work fine.... I'm wondering if Container.SetSortMethod() is broken...
You are probably using Rapier 6.0.0 with XBMC Gotham?

It seems Container.SetSortmethod() is broken in Gotham, however it works absolutely fine in Frodo.

Most skins use one button for the sort order (which lets XBMC handle the sorting options), while Rapier uses a drop down dialog. That drop down dialog means that all sort methods needs to be coded manually using Container.SetSortmethod() and a lot of visibility conditions. I'm considering changing that for one button, so everything can be fixed at once...

Indeed I am, and yes, I too have found all the other skins are just using NextSortMethod()
find quote
Gade Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 8
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Post: #362
(2014-07-26 03:14)VeNoMouSNZ Wrote:  Indeed I am, and yes, I too have found all the other skins are just using NextSortMethod()

Please keep this thread about Rapier for Frodo.

Thanks a lot for the inputs about the sort methods.

I have uploaded a new version for Gotham including the fixes. Smile
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-26 23:39 by Gade.)
find quote
Gade Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 8
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Post: #363
(2014-07-25 23:56)danilovesky Wrote:  Regarding the configuration of sub-category (or submenus as they are called in the skin settings). One indeed can hide the individual categories (e.g. VIDEO, MUSIC, GENERAL, etc). However, what I meant - the category submenus (e.g. in VIDEOS category those are LIBRARY, MOVIES, TV SHOWS, MUSIC VIDEOS, PLAYLISTS, PARTY MODE, ADD-ONS). Currently you can either hide all of them (SYSTEM -> Skin settings->Home->Hide submenus) or add user-defined submenus (SYSTEM->Skin settings->Home->Category submenu items). It would be convenient to hide some (but not all) of the existing category submenus thus making space for user-defined ones.

Hi danilovesky.

All this is already possible - and easy. Smile

Let me give you an example:
You like the Movies submenu, but would only like Genre, Actors, Directors and Recently Added to be visible.
- This is submenu 1, 3, 4 and 7.
- Enter the Skin Settings -> Home -> Customize Submenu -> Movies.
- Activate button 2, 5 and 6, but do nothing else.
- That's it.

You can do this with all buttons, almost all categories and also add your own submenu items. If you would like to replace the Actors submenu under the Movies category with something else, you just select submenu number 3 in the skin settings.

(2014-07-25 23:56)danilovesky Wrote:  While playing with Skin settings I noticed a small usability issue - it is difficult to navigate the long lists of options. Only Up and Down keys work, but not PageUp or PageDown. Also if you move focus to the scroll bar and slide to the settings you need and then go back from the scroll bar to the settings panel -- the focus jumps to the previously selected item, not to the currently visible ones. It would be more convenient if in the Skin settings the selection followed the scroll bar, similar to how it is done in long lists of media files.

The scrollbar is mostly for touch devices and mouse. When you focus the scrollbar and go back to the options, the last focused item will always be selected.

The movie library works differently.

But I will take note of this and consider giving it some attention at some point.
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-26 20:15 by Gade.)
find quote
danilovesky Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #364
(2014-07-26 20:12)Gade Wrote:  Hi danilovesky.

All this is already possible - and easy. Smile

Let me give you an example:
You like the Movies submenu, but would only like Genre, Actors, Directors and Recently Added to be visible.
- This is submenu 1, 3, 4 and 7.
- Enter the Skin Settings -> Home -> Customize Submenu -> Movies.
- Activate button 2, 5 and 6, but do nothing else.
- That's it.

You can do this with all buttons, almost all categories and also add your own submenu items. If you would like to replace the Actors submenu under the Movies category with something else, you just select submenu number 3 in the skin settings.

Hi Gade,

Many thanks for this detailed explanation!
I feel stupid I did not figure out this myself Smile
find quote
Gade Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 8
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Post: #365
No problem, glad to help Smile
find quote
Post Reply