Linux The Best Backend
Right,

I'm still quite new to XBMC and linux. I originally installed Myth TV as it supported time shifting feature, however I couldn't get it to work I spent a few hours trying, I was recomended to use TVheadend and I had it up and running in a few mins. It got me thinking whats the best back end?

What backend do you use and why?
Was it easy to install?
Whats becoming the best backend to use?
Question without much use ^^ - i prefer VDR as this is my only PVR application since 10years+ now - for beginners and as long as you dont miss anything, tvheadend should be fine. If you need the features of it, VDR might be a nice option.
Time-shifting is coming to tvheadend soon. Its already included into its main repository if you want to have a delve deeper into linux and build it yourself. I'm sticking with the current stable build purely because I'm using it day to day and the "other half" has a tendency make things break just by pressing a button on the remote.
I've not tried any of the other linux backends but did try a couple of the windows ones and found them awkward to set up and slow to change channel.
In My Opinion this is MythTV. It is cumbersome to set up, but it is very powerful / stable.
Hell yeah, TVHeadEnd .. using it for more than one year in experimental XBMC builds - tvheadend is stable, never had any issues with it, it's the backend with the fastest channel switching, even HD & encrypted channels switch in about a second, EPG is fine, easy to setup as you know and with little ressource request .. with the webinterface easy to maintain from other computers. And it supports - without pain - code word clients (newcamd) for encrypted stuff. MythTV and VDR have a lot of features and they are for sure good backends, but the winner is imho tvheadend ..

Greetz

LastCoder
HTPC Specs: Silverstone GD05B Case, ASUS P8H61-M LE/USB3, i5-3470S, GT1030, 8 GB RAM , 2 TB HDD, iHOS104 BluRay Drive, TT DVBS2-1600, Sony PS3 BD Remote control