Mac OS X - No 5.1 sound from AAC or DTS when transcoding to AC3

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PalleO Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  RE: No 5.1 sound from AAC or DTS when transcoding to AC3
Post: #46
I've tested it, and it seem to be working like a charm. The only thing I noticed is a small lack of response when skipping forward/backward in a movie. This is probably because it takes a while for the transcoder to kick in again.
Thanks for a good job, guys! Smile
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #47
@ript - Turn ac3 on and anything Else of - Play a file with DTS ...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
RipT Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #48
@memphiz, you were right, the file I thought was DTS was really Dolby True-HD. There is some problem with True-HD as I can't get it to work unless I switch to analog output in the audio settings. DTS works with transcoding to AC3 with your settings, but also works fine with pass-through on my system, so I really don't need that.

FLAC 5.1, however, definitely is a problem with trancoding. It typically plays a little bit, then stutters then XBMC crashes.

Here's the crashlog: http://pastebin.com/J96JKmYx

Here's the XBMC llog:http://pastebin.com/yJq1Ardz

I am also seeing the lack of response mentioned by @palleo when skipping forward or backwards on all videos, even AC3 vids, with every combination of audio settings I tried. This definitely wasn't happening with previous builds. If it's related to the transcoding, it might be a good idea to put in a checkbox to disable the transcoding as it is fairly annoying, and the only audio I really have trouble with using multichannel LPCM is ACC 7.1, with mixed up channels, which the transcoding doesn't fix anyway.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #49
please provide a sample flac for me to test.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-20 14:21 by Memphiz.)
find quote
RipT Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #50
@memphiz, here's a good channel check video with various audio formats available in it, including FLAC 5.1 and 7.1. I got it from the linux forum here at XBMC, but the link is dead. I've uploaded it to here: http://temp-share.com/show/2gFbcr2o8. I've never used this site before, so let me know if you have any problems downloading it.
find quote
jm928 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
I have just today updated to 12.3 on Mavericks - it runs fine but i still can't get any kind of trascoding to work. Bothe AAC and DTS files output stereo despite only AC3 being selected in settings. These files still work in Eden.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #52
transcoding is not available in frodo 12.x it was added for gotham and until this is released is available in current nightly and alpha builds.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
PalleO Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
I had success transcoding audio in Gotham monthly Alpha 9, but since that, the transcoding has been removed (?) Really a shame, since I really need this function, and Alpha 9 is getting outdated, with a lot of add-ons not functioning more. So Memphis, you're saying that this will be enabled in Gotham?
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #54
It was not removed. It works same as before. Most likely you have set your speaker config to something bigger then 2.0. This causes LPCM decoding to kick in which might just not work for you.

For current gotham versions the following settings are sane defaults which should work for most cases (including transcoding):

SpeakerLayout: 2.0
enable AC3
enable DTS (if receiver supports it)
device "default"
done.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
PalleO Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
That explains a lot Laugh I must have missed the documentation about the changes in the settings. I always switch to 5.1, and that works in Alpha 9. I will give it a try and hope for the very best. Wish me luck Wink
find quote
PalleO Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
YAY, it works perfectly! Thanks for the tip, but in my opinion, it doesn't make a lot of sense that I have to configure my system to 2.0 sound, when I have a 5.1 receiver (?) Can someone explain this to me?
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #57
*sigh* - yes i can ...

2.0 is the number of channels we are opening in the device. For all passed through audio like DTS and AC3 we need 2 channels (as those 5.1 channels are encoded into 2.0 pcm channels). Setting the speakerlayout higher results in the activation of LPCM. LPCM means XBMC decodes all channels from the 2.0 encoded DTS, AC3 sound (resulting in 6 channels for 5.1) - remaps them according to the audio device and then puts them out as 6 pcm channels (this is 3 times more data then the 2.0 encoded channels from DTS, AC3 passthrough).

Since we have issues with mapping the channels from input format 5.1 to device format 5.1 atm - this may result in silence instead of audio.

I hope this clears it up a bit (and i hope i remember this post for future questions in this direction instead of retyping it everytime *haha*).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,171
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #58
FAQ'ized: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...#Audio_2.0

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,204
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 113
Location: germany
Post: #59
Thx a bunch Ned.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
master345 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 18
Post: #60
Many many thanks - saved me a bunch a work converting 2.0 - 5.1!
find quote