[RELEASE] Movie Set Artwork Automator

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
PhilipW Offline
Donor
Posts: 29
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #316
(2014-08-19 00:41)Milhouse Wrote:  In skin Confluence, from the Main Menu (the one with Videos, Movies, TV Shows, Music etc.) go into Programs and you should see "Movie Set Artwork Automator" listed - click on it to run it.

Other skins may call the "Programs" menu "Add-ons" or some such, not to mention other languages using whatever is their native term.

You can turn on debug log which will reveal more information on what the addon is doing, upload your debug log to xbmclogs.com or pastebin.com - just paste a link here.

Thanks Milhouse. It was Apps in Aeon Nox 5. Which I had disabled, but have that sorted out now.
find quote
PhilipW Offline
Donor
Posts: 29
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #317
(2014-08-19 00:50)Ic3y Wrote:  Good to hear.

The most common problem I had with it not showing the art for certain collections was the movie set name XBMC gives compared to what I named the artwork as mentioned above.

"Dark Knight Collection" ended up being "The Dark Knight Collection", etc.

You just have to rename your artwork .jpgs or rename the movie set name in XBMC so they match exactly.

Good luck !

-Nik

Thanks Nik, that was something to check.

I did check the names and they all match. Further investigation didn't reveal any issues that could be causing this.

I even completely removed the batman & robin graphics (which is what was showing up for batman collection), deleted all the batman movies, reimported them, without the batman & robin art in its folder, and the art still showed up in the batman set. Even though the art wasn't even on the computer anywhere. Which must mean the movie set art is cached somewhere and the problem is getting that purged so it correctly looks up the correct art.

Eventually, I just manually assigned the artwork from the folder to the sets. Which is a bit frustrating. Now I just need a way so I don't have to do this on all my computers.
find quote
trentf Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: Australia
Post: #318
(2014-07-24 13:33)DanCooper Wrote:  Another question:

How you handle filename <-> movie set name if movie set name has illegal characters like the ":" in "Mission:Impossible"?

(2014-07-24 23:46)DanCooper Wrote:  Thank you for hints, but i need a method that will work with any illegal filename character for a proper MSAA integration in Ember Media Manager. That means we need a "Movie Set Artwork Automator" internal solution for this.
We grab the movie set titles from TMDB and manually set name changes can not be the solution.

@trentf: Are you willing to look for a solution together?

Dan, if you go back through this thread you will see this discussed. What MSAA does is strip all non alphanumeric chars on both sides when comparing set names to filenames. So you can either just drop the illegal filename chars when naming the file, or convert them to something nicer on the eye, like ":" -> " - ".
find quote
CaptainKen Offline
Fan
Posts: 725
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 5
Location: Arizona
Post: #319
(2014-08-18 20:40)PhilipW Wrote:  I'm not getting my movie set artwork to show up in XBMC.

Gotham / Aeon Nox 5 / Movie Set Artwork Automator

Using TMM to manage the collection.

File structure looks like this example from original post:

Example using single artwork folder
\Blu-ray\Alien\Alien (1979) [BDRip] [1080p] [q18] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Aliens\Aliens (1986) [BDRip] [1080p] [q20] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien Anthology-fanart.jpg
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien Anthology-folder.jpg

Automator is configured:

Enable single artwork folder for all sets
Path to single artwork folder is specified \movies.bluray\movieset artwork
Filenames are set to default (folder.jpg and fanart.jpg)

I don't know if it's set up correctly, or if I need to somehow refresh the database, or it's something else.

While I don't have my artwork in a separate folder than each set, I'm thinking that maybe your naming convention should be like this:
Example using single artwork folder
\Blu-ray\Alien\Alien (1979) [BDRip] [1080p] [q18] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Aliens\Aliens (1986) [BDRip] [1080p] [q20] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Aliens-fanart.jpg
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien-folder.jpg

This is because your set/collection folder name is "Aliens", not "Alien Anthology".

If this is the case, then you can run TextureCashe utility from MilhouseVH to update your artwork.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=158373

Run "./texturecache,py C sets" to force all movie set related artwork to be re-cached (posters, fanart, logos etc.). Add the partial name of a set to re-cache just the matching sets, eg. "./texturecache,py C sets potter" to re-cache just your Harry Potter set.

If the fanart for a set isn't showing up one of these:
- Highlight the set and press the "I" Info button and Backspace to force a refresh
- Go into "Movie Sets" and press DELETE button on the set. A spinner will appear, artwork will appear in few seconds, but set will not be deleted.
- Make sure the fanart and poster are jpg, not png, jpeg or any other format
- If you create a jpg with a transparent background it won't be recognized, therefore you have to modify it by giving the background a color.
- Check the file permissions
- Make sure the Read-only or Hidden file attributes are not checked
- Make sure within the file attribute window that there isn't a Security Block:
"This file came from another computer and might be blocked to help protect this computer."
- Run "texturecache.py C sets" to recache
- Run "texturecache.py jd sets > LogFilePathAndNameHere" to see what artwork is being used for the set
- Even though MSAA is supposed to drill down and use fanart and poster from a movie in the set, if none exist for the set itself, sometimes you must have actual artwork for the actual set.

www.CaptainKen.us
www.YouTube.com/KenInGilbert
My Media Center Pics & Specs
Synology DS1813+ RAID 6 NAS, 22TB useable space

find quote
DanCooper Online
Moderator
Posts: 1,408
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 71
Location: Switzerland
Post: #320
(2014-08-20 23:45)trentf Wrote:  
(2014-07-24 13:33)DanCooper Wrote:  Another question:

How you handle filename <-> movie set name if movie set name has illegal characters like the ":" in "Mission:Impossible"?

(2014-07-24 23:46)DanCooper Wrote:  Thank you for hints, but i need a method that will work with any illegal filename character for a proper MSAA integration in Ember Media Manager. That means we need a "Movie Set Artwork Automator" internal solution for this.
We grab the movie set titles from TMDB and manually set name changes can not be the solution.

@trentf: Are you willing to look for a solution together?

Dan, if you go back through this thread you will see this discussed. What MSAA does is strip all non alphanumeric chars on both sides when comparing set names to filenames. So you can either just drop the illegal filename chars when naming the file, or convert them to something nicer on the eye, like ":" -> " - ".

I have indeed already read, but I thought this is just a workaround.
Works great, thank you.

Latest Ember-MM version - [Release] Ember Media Manager 1.3.x
German XBMCNerds
find quote
PhilipW Offline
Donor
Posts: 29
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #321
(2014-08-21 00:11)CaptainKen Wrote:  
(2014-08-18 20:40)PhilipW Wrote:  I'm not getting my movie set artwork to show up in XBMC.

Gotham / Aeon Nox 5 / Movie Set Artwork Automator

Using TMM to manage the collection.

File structure looks like this example from original post:

Example using single artwork folder
\Blu-ray\Alien\Alien (1979) [BDRip] [1080p] [q18] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Aliens\Aliens (1986) [BDRip] [1080p] [q20] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien Anthology-fanart.jpg
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien Anthology-folder.jpg

Automator is configured:

Enable single artwork folder for all sets
Path to single artwork folder is specified \movies.bluray\movieset artwork
Filenames are set to default (folder.jpg and fanart.jpg)

I don't know if it's set up correctly, or if I need to somehow refresh the database, or it's something else.

While I don't have my artwork in a separate folder than each set, I'm thinking that maybe your naming convention should be like this:
Example using single artwork folder
\Blu-ray\Alien\Alien (1979) [BDRip] [1080p] [q18] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Aliens\Aliens (1986) [BDRip] [1080p] [q20] [FLAC].mkv
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Aliens-fanart.jpg
\Blu-ray\Artwork\Alien-folder.jpg

This is because your set/collection folder name is "Aliens", not "Alien Anthology".

If this is the case, then you can run TextureCashe utility from MilhouseVH to update your artwork.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=158373

Run "./texturecache,py C sets" to force all movie set related artwork to be re-cached (posters, fanart, logos etc.). Add the partial name of a set to re-cache just the matching sets, eg. "./texturecache,py C sets potter" to re-cache just your Harry Potter set.

If the fanart for a set isn't showing up one of these:
- Highlight the set and press the "I" Info button and Backspace to force a refresh
- Go into "Movie Sets" and press DELETE button on the set. A spinner will appear, artwork will appear in few seconds, but set will not be deleted.
- Make sure the fanart and poster are jpg, not png, jpeg or any other format
- If you create a jpg with a transparent background it won't be recognized, therefore you have to modify it by giving the background a color.
- Check the file permissions
- Make sure the Read-only or Hidden file attributes are not checked
- Make sure within the file attribute window that there isn't a Security Block:
"This file came from another computer and might be blocked to help protect this computer."
- Run "texturecache.py C sets" to recache
- Run "texturecache.py jd sets > LogFilePathAndNameHere" to see what artwork is being used for the set
- Even though MSAA is supposed to drill down and use fanart and poster from a movie in the set, if none exist for the set itself, sometimes you must have actual artwork for the actual set.

Thanks Ken. I had been pointed to the texturecache from millhouse and was reading through it. I'll give this a try this morning. That aliens example was from the original post of this thread, I copied it. I didn't notice his example didn't match, but my folders and names do match.
find quote
Stakker Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #322
Huuuuge thanks for this addon. It works perfect for me! Big Grin
Well done!
find quote
trentf Offline
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: Australia
Post: #323
Wow, a Russian porn ad got through. Do moderators need to remove these manually?
find quote
Post Reply