[Release] Slideshow Screensaver

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ronie Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 9,092
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #286
(2014-05-24 01:37)stewface Wrote:  How can I go to a network location that I have opened up in the file system.

first go to the Pictures section in XBMC, click on the 'Add pictures...' option and add your network folder.
that should make the folder show up in the screensaver addon as well.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-XBMC members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
marathon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #287
Bad Image quality - Low Resolution
I've had problems when I've tried the slideshow that sometimes the image that is displayed is of very bad quality with a low resolution. I've now found the issue and wanted to let you others who might get the same problem know the source of it.
My setup is that I've stored all images on a Synology NAS and I connect to it through NFS. However the Synology if you run the photostation application goes though all your images and creates thumbnails in a hidden folder @eadir in the image's folder. You don't see them when you connect through windows, but XBMC that connects though NFS sees these hidden folders and sees the thumbnails pictures in them!
So my solution was to turn of the indexing / thumbnail creation processes in the Synology NAS and then go through my image folder and removing the @eadir:
First, SSH into your Synology NAS box and log in as root, then type this to locate the @eaDir folders:
1 find . -name "@eaDir" -type d | more
If you’re happy you’re not going to accidentally delete something important, then make it happen:
2 find . -name "@eaDir" -type d -print0 | xargs -0 rm -rf
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #288
How can I increase the number of characters shown in the filename ? I have long filenames for the pictures and the slideshow truncates them.
find quote
ronie Online
Team-XBMC Member
Posts: 9,092
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 157
Post: #289
(2014-06-26 09:19)phileas50 Wrote:  How can I increase the number of characters shown in the filename ? I have long filenames for the pictures and the slideshow truncates them.
find this file:
screensaver.xbmc.slideshow/resources/skins/default/720p/script-python-slideshow.xml

adjust the width on line 92:
<width>400</width>

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-XBMC members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
phileas50 Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Athens, Greece
Post: #290
Thank you. That did it

uote='ronie' pid='1742614' dateline='1403877647']
(2014-06-26 09:19)phileas50 Wrote:  How can I increase the number of characters shown in the filename ? I have long filenames for the pictures and the slideshow truncates them.
find this file:
screensaver.xbmc.slideshow/resources/skins/default/720p/script-python-slideshow.xml

adjust the width on line 92:
<width>400</width>
[/quote]
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-01 18:12 by phileas50.)
find quote
Ozimodo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #291
Installed xbmc gotham 13.1 onto a windows 7 notebook connected to my tv via hdmi and all is good except when the slideshow screensaver kicks in my music playback stutters and goes slowly.

Fps and cpu utilisation are fine, nothing shows in the logs. Have tried local and streaming (shoutcast) music and the stuttering remains. 9gb bluray rips play fine so its not a throughput issue? The multi slideshow addon does the same thing. Have tried different settings (pan zoom etc) with no luck.

Note that the image files I display in the slideshow are large photos (4-6MB) and are accessed from attached USB storage. I have tried accessing the files off local C: and it did not help. The same files play perfectly in the slideshow when I was run xbmc on an andriod box.

Have not tried froddo on the PC yet so don't know if that would help.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

EDIT Works fine on PC with Froddo 12.3
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-16 13:40 by Ozimodo.)
find quote
Post Reply