HOW-TO setup streaming internet video/audio

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Electrox3d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #76
is there any updates to this? like winamp.com's mystery sience theater 3000 stream. or using a http://orb.com/ personal streaming account with xbox? you can watch live tv from your own tv tuner over that website. any way to incorporate that?
find quote
kaede2k1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #77
just to let you guys know that the guex streampack website address has changed a while back
http://xbmc-stream.gueux.be/index_eng.php
find quote
urbanmac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #78
(kaede2k1 @ july 24 2005,11:55 Wrote:just to let you guys know that the guex streampack website address has changed a while back
http://xbmc-stream.gueux.be/index_eng.php
i have the files now what? :help:
find quote
Dr Evil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #79
does anyone know how to stream feeds that use pplive or coolstreaming on the pc to the xbox?

thanks
find quote
us1111 Offline
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Apr 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #80
i don't now if this came up, but does anyone know if it is possible to add a thumbnail to a stream file?
find quote
carlito Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #81
hey dr. evil...coolstreaming works fine....just put the url that it broadcasts "[url]http://a.b.c.d:6789/1.asf"[/url] in a file on your pc called something like "cool.strm" (where a.b.c.d is the ip address of your pc), access the file remotely from xbmc and bingo!!!

i think pplive, which currently has superior quality to coolstreaming, broadcasts in a format that xbmc doesnt like (wmp lists format as: video-windows media video 9 & audio-windows media audio 940 kbps, 32 khz, stereo (a/v) 1-pass cbr) , but i'm not on the latest xbmc release.....if anyone has got this working i'd like to know!!!
find quote
Dr Evil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #82
(carlito @ aug. 14 2005,12:44 Wrote:hey dr. evil...coolstreaming works fine....just put the url that it broadcasts "[url]http://a.b.c.d:6789/1.asf"[/url] in a file on your pc called something like "cool.strm" (where a.b.c.d is the ip address of your pc), access the file remotely from xbmc and bingo!!!

i think pplive, which currently has superior quality to coolstreaming, broadcasts in a format that xbmc doesnt like (wmp lists format as: video-windows media video 9 & audio-windows media audio 940 kbps, 32 khz, stereo (a/v) 1-pass cbr) , but i'm not on the latest xbmc release.....if anyone has got this working i'd like to know!!!
carlito - thanks, i did sort this on coolstreaming myself, but just couldn't get pplive to work which is ashame as it is significantly superior quality on my computer! hopefully there will be some xbmc that can play it soon then.
find quote
Dr Evil Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #83
ok, just tried it with the latest xbmc i can find and it get as far as buffering it to 18.75% and then briefly flashes up that it can not play it because of no audio stream (though it plays fine on my computer) - so guess its missing a codec of some sort; but don't know which one or how to sort that...
find quote
carlito Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Jul 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #84
someones come up with a temporary workaround for pplive...see thread below:

http://www.xboxmediaplayer.de/cgi-bin....t=14602
find quote
Chipsta040365 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #85
Hello Everyone,

Please forgive me for the noob questions, but, i am Deperately trying to get this setup for my home.

I started with Boxee powered by xbmc and found i like xbmc better.

I want to configure XBMC to work with Local TV News, but, i am lost as to what i my need to make it happen.

Should i look for internet feeds and skip basic cable, or should i add a cheap tv tuner card and basic cable just for the news?

Also, who here has made the complete jump to internet only TV/Media?

What are good resources to read up on to make the transition work with the family?

Thank for your time.

Chipsta

PS. what are some of your favorite configs/setups?
find quote
Chipsta040365 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #86
stream name: FOX News
stream type: Akamai?
url:http://www.myfoxboston.com/generic/video...morning-97
stream bandwidth: ?
my bandwidth: FIOS 584KBS
status: untested
my location: Boston, Mass. USA
current programming is: News
find quote
schneidz Offline
Fan
Posts: 410
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #87
wow, a 5 year old resurrection...
i use this as a poor man's music streaming server:
Code:
[schneidz@hyper ~]$ cat ./hyper/nc.ksh
#!/bin/bash
PL=$(find /media/win/stuff/damian_jr_gong_marley -name "*.mp3")
NUM=$(echo $PL |wc -w)
{
while true; do
r=$(($RANDOM%$NUM))
if [ $r -eq 0 ]
then
  r=1
fi
s=$(echo $PL |cut -d ' ' -f$r)
echo "Playing $s ... " >& 2
echo "HTTP/1.0 200 OK";
echo "Content-Type: audio/x-mp3stream";
echo "Cache-Control: no-cache ";
echo "Pragma: no-cache ";
echo "Connection: close ";
echo "x-audiocast-name: schneidz-bash mp3 streaming server";
echo;
echo;

dd if=$s bs=1024
done
} | nc -v -l 8020
should work in xbmc-live
find quote
beenieman4355 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Question  How can i watch seen.tv streams on XBMC?
Post: #88
I just found these two sites http://www.dovyweb.com and http://www.seeon.tv
I am enjoying watching the feeds from my browser but I would love to just run the stream by clicking an icon in XBMC.
Can anyone suggest a solution?
find quote
dkosterl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #89
does this work if you are using the PLEX software and a Roku LT box? If so, please help with instructions. I am trying to get PBS Frontline, which posts old shows on their website and I can watch on my computer, to stream to my TV. But when I go to PLEX on my TV, it says I have nothing in my queue.

Or if you think PLEX and Roku are not the way to go, what should I buy? I have never had an X-box, and I am not a gamer.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
find quote
paulie33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #90
Can any one please. Complete dummy when it comes to this,). Why when I try and watch any thing does it stop all the time. Im aware that there is a really easy answer . I just dont know it. Using android box ... x
find quote
Post Reply