HTPC-OpenElec-Build
Thanks again for all the help. Updated final build list below so new users can reference. Pics on page 4.

Original post: I am wanting to build an HTPC that will be my media center. I currently use a couple boxee boxes, but really want to get into XBMC. I want to build an HTPC that is fast enough to run OpenElec XBMC and play my media library that is currently being shared to my boxees via SMB. All media consists of 720P and 1080P, avg bitrate between 0-10MB. Below is the build I have started through NewEgg. No parts ordered yet. Wanted to get some advice from the experts on this forum and see if I am missing parts. Money is not an issue, however I don't want to go overboard with the build. I just want a smooth, no lag, high speed media center. Below are the current parts. I have never built a computer before, so the only part I was unsure about was the SSD drive. I could not tell if it was compatible with the motherboard. I also didn't know if the power supply included with the case was enough. I am also open to pre-built all-in-ones, like Zotac or Pivos, just don't know to much about them. Thanks in advance for any help/advice.

Final build list. Cooler used was the big shuriken 2. Pics of build on page 4!

IMO killer CPU, killer RAM. You don't need more then 2GB and a Dual Core CPU (maybe even a single core will do) as long as it supports video hardware decoding.

Read this: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=94199

• Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH ~ Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB ~ SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD ~ Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
If you are running OpenElec (i.e. a Linux-based OS) then an AMD graphics solution won't let you bitstream HD Audio (that's only available in Windows with AMD graphics solutions).