WIP Setting up XBMCubuntu as Server* Help/Opinions
Hello all, this is my first post on this forum and first server build in general. To be short and sweet I've been researching on what to install on my current setup and have a few questions as to what would work best.

Here is what I want to do:

1) Use server as HTPC on my main tv
2) Stream video and transcode to PS3
3) Connect to Windows PC for file sharing
4) Remote desktop connection to set things up, etc.

Here is what I have come up with:

1) Install XBMCubuntu as OS
2) Install PS3 Media Server in background for streaming/transcoding
3) Link to windows file share (samba? not sure)
4) Figure out how to remotely connect. lol

Basically I am looking for criticism, opinions, etc on whether or not this will work. I'm completely new to Linux but there seems to be a lot of support out there and i'm willing to put in the time.

Your help will be greatly appreciated before I take the plunge. Right now nothing is installed on the server, it is freshly built.

Build:
Pentium G860
Gigabyte 1155 GA-B75M-HD-3
4GB Ram
60GB SSD (for OS)
2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda drives
Welcome,

2. I think its now ums (ultimate media server or something.) I liked using serviio.
3. Yeah samba is what you're after. Its included in xbmc, not sure about the xmbcbuntu desktop but it wouldn't be hard to install.
4. Lots of ways. I use x11vnc. Search for 'vnc' in xbmcbuntus package manager (synaptic?)
Have you looked at plex? They have a server/client set up that is fantastic.
Nvidia Shield with Kodi 18
I like Teamviewer much more than VNC for remote desktop.

Samba can be a toal PITA. Here's my setup. Low security but easy & works well. Install Synaptic if it's not there:

In terminal:

Code:
sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install synaptic