Auto update not working.
Question 
Hi
I have my Pi running pretty good but the auto update isn't working. From within XMBC I can see it says downloading the update but when I check system - settings it's still the same. Tried several reboots etc.

I had lots of crashes with my first Install in December and that after many recoveries died so I've installed the Jan 25th update about a week ago from scratch via Berryboot.
I'm running Ver 2 Pi, 16gb class 10 sd card, Saitek wireless keyboard + wifi dongle, 2amp PSU and no powered hub being used.
I'm also running berryboot with Puppy with no problems.

PS. I'm new to Linux and the Pi so some of your answers might go over my head! :o)
You haven't mentioned which distribution you are running, though I'm guessing it is OpenELEC. What version are you running, specifically, the contents of /etc/release, as the version in System Info may only relate to the version of XBMC which will always be 12.0 for the time being, so this may be why you think it is not updating.

When OpenELEC has downloaded a new version, you should see it update when you next reboot - does the update fail, or does the update not happen at all (the onscreen messages should mean it is obvious when an attempt to update takes place).

I suppose Berryboot could be a reason why the auto-update breaks - does Berryboot place the OpenELEC boot files in a location other than the root of the SD card?
Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
Thanx for the reply.
Sorry for my lack of knowledge on this but I can't find the /etc/release/
Can you be very specific where to/how to find the above?
Yes it's OpenELEC and after my fresh install via Berryboot I can see from within XBMC 12.0 - RC3 etc compiled Jan 25 2013.