Increase buffer size?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
senk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
An update on my config:

I'm now using a monthly build of XBMC that have implemented a change in buffer settings.
So if you just run the latest xbmc build and use this in advancedsettings.xml:
<advancedsettings>
<network>
<alwaysforcebuffer>1</alwaysforcebuffer>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
</advancedsettings>

...you will buffer any source to local disk! Works like a charm for me even tough there are minor issues using the XBMC gotham beta in general.
find quote
mcage Offline
Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
(2013-09-06 16:35)senk Wrote:  An update on my config:

I'm now using a monthly build of XBMC that have implemented a change in buffer settings.
So if you just run the latest xbmc build and use this in advancedsettings.xml:
<advancedsettings>
<network>
<alwaysforcebuffer>1</alwaysforcebuffer>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
</advancedsettings>

...you will buffer any source to local disk! Works like a charm for me even tough there are minor issues using the XBMC gotham beta in general.

Thx, this is working for me for my Android wifi smb buffering issues!!!,

(2013-09-06 16:35)senk Wrote:  An update on my config:

I'm now using a monthly build of XBMC that have implemented a change in buffer settings.
So if you just run the latest xbmc build and use this in advancedsettings.xml:
<advancedsettings>
<network>
<alwaysforcebuffer>1</alwaysforcebuffer>
<cachemembuffersize>0</cachemembuffersize>
</network>
</advancedsettings>

...you will buffer any source to local disk! Works like a charm for me even tough there are minor issues using the XBMC gotham beta in general.

Thx, this is working for me for my Android wifi smb buffering issues!!!,
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-06 22:31 by mcage.)
find quote
schapplm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
For users of XBMC 12 Frodo this can be interesting:
Local network media is not buffered with SMB and NFS protocol.
FTP (and probably WebDAV) are buffered. So accessing the media over ftp server can solve the buffering problems.
In version 13 Gotham the alwaysforcebuffer option solves this.
Source: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...e_settings

My addon: service.watchedlist
My HTPC: XBMC 12.2; Ubuntu 12.04.3 LTS x64; AMD A6-6400K; MSI FM2-A55M-E33; 4GB Kingston HyperX RAM; Digital Devices Cine CT V6 DVB-C; Streacom FC8B Evo with 120W picoPSU
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-25 23:53 by schapplm.)
find quote
Post Reply