Skinning... Taking one thing from one
hi,

i installed the orbs skin on my xbmc (latest buid) but i dont like the general layout of the skin or the colour scheme, well prefer that of project mayhem iii. but there is one tweek i like in the orbs and that is the icons in my programs, my music, my videos and my pictures... the xbox dvd case, poloroid, cd case etc backgrounds to the icons.

what i want to do is take this from the orbs and add it in to project mayhem iii but i cant for the life of me figure out how its done.

can anyone help me? references, urls, code, anything i need to look for is much appreciated. not asking anyone to do this for me as im not afraid to get in there and change some code, but i just cant find what i need to find.

cheers.
all the files are xml so you either need to edit them manually or wait until the skin editor is released.

doing some searching and reading on this forum and the online manual would answer all your questions.
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
yea i tried that but i couldnt make head nor tail of the "the orbs" xml files, and nothing in the manual tells me how to put a graphic under the game icon. i presume the "underlayed" graphics on the orb are within the compressed media file in the media directory for that skin, which isnt a problem as i can easily replicate these graphics in photoshop and use my own copies... just havent a clue and cant find anything which will tell me how to put this graphic, or any graphic, under each of the game icons...

basically these are what i want my games/photos/movies/music icons to look like (for those who haven seen the orbs skin and dont know what im on about...

the game icons, default icon but on top of the dvd case.

the movie icons, if it exists the movie case is over the top of a dvd case, if not then it shows a dvd in the open case.

the music icon, if it exists the album art is over the top, if not then it has the disc in the cd case.