Recommendation for graphics card needed
Hey there,

I'm new to the htpc world and willing to set up my first device.
I managed to sponge an old pc (Core 2 Duo E8500) from my office,
so first of all I want to put a graphics card in it.

It should be able to play 1080p movies, not necessarily in 3D because my TV can't play it (of course I wouldn't complain if it was future-proof),
Dolby True HD and DTS-HD Master, and it should connect through hdmi (including audio).
I would prefer to save some bucks to having the card completely noiseless, as the pc will be standing behind a wall...
The System will be running with WinXP SP3.

Can you give me advice? Best would be if you are using a similar system with WinXP, so you could tell me if the drivers work...

thnx
Don't use Win Xp, use Linux or Win7 instead. Because Win Xp does not support Graphics Acceleration on GPU.
Hello Captain,

thanks for your reply...

A friend told me, the E8500 should be strong enough for my purpose.
But if he was wrong I would use XBMCbuntu...
I stuck to Win because other os means other drivers, and Windows is the only os I ever used...

Which card would you suggest if I used XBMCbuntu?
Driver management in Windows 7 is much easier than Windows XP.

For Linux, if you're just watching videos and no gaming, something like the Nvidia GT610 will do well.
Thank you too, Mr. Fresh

(2013-03-27, 15:27)Dougie Fresh Wrote: For Linux, if you're just watching videos and no gaming, something like the Nvidia GT610 will do well.
Does it put out audio through hdmi without problems? I read things about extra cables, that had to be plugged on to a gtx260...
If it does it's perfect for me: cheap and quiet...
With just about every card/configuration you'll find people having problems with audio or video not working for whatever strange driver/configuration/defect reason. The GT610 is supposed to pass audio via HDMI when properly configured.