Could XBMC be made to run on Enigma2 box, eg vu+
Hi all,

have purchased a Vu+ box for tv viewing (see http://vuplus.com/) and I've got tv channels streaming to XBMC via plugin which works great.

However would like to use a media centre type interface on the Vu+ to view movies/tv shows on nas.
Could it be made to work? perhaps as a plugin?
Probably a daft question but just curious what it would take to make it work?

Most of enigma2 based boxes have low processor power but the new Solo2 model has a dual core 1.3ghz processor so may be up to job?
I've tried to install a plugin called 'project Valerie' which looked ok but could get it to work right, kept crashing the box.

Any thoughts?

Just found tutorial on writing enigma2 plugins and says they are written in python, is XBMC is written in C++? Guessing they are worlds apart? I'm no programmer!
No reasonable way to port xbmc to Enigma2's Python on a insufficient resources.
(2013-04-04, 12:41)realjobe Wrote: No reasonable way to port xbmc to Enigma2's Python on a insufficient resources.

Shame, seems like a no go then.
Think I'm going to dust off the raspberry pi and setup openelec for now then.
I was also wondering if this could happen as there are many devices sold for sat TV and now with PVR support of XBMC it could be much easier.
If it wasn't a plugin for enigma but a complete port would it be possible? Because enigma2 is basically a linux distro as inside it has all the folders structure of a linux system. Could a programmer with a knowledge have a look into it?
Looked at it and it is not possible.
Also for new devices this would probably need extensive support from the manufacturer.

To run XBMC you need OpenGL / OpenGLES and support for hardware decoding of video.
These boxes have neither.
Thank you for the quick reply and the look into it. Highly appreciate it.