Solved [xbmcbuntu+xvba] audio stuttering if video is in background
Hey guys,

This one is bugging me since a long time but I just decided to work around it so far. On some skins you can decide if video should be displayed in the menu or not if it keeps running in the background, my problem seems to be that whenever I turn that option off (means video keeps running but doesn't show in the menu) the audio starts stuttering after about 10 seconds. If I let the video show in the background this problem does not surface. From the debug log it looks like it's some sync problem between video and audio but I'm no expert. I tested if I got the same behaviour on my windows pc but that isn't the case, so it has something to do with xbmcbuntu/xvba I would guess. Just to make sure I get my point across, pictures say more then a thousand words:

Stutters after 10s ____No stutter
Image Image

Did somebody experience the same problem already and knows a solution?

Some details:
HTPC: ZBOX HD ND22 (Intel Celeron SU2300 + ION Graphics)
XBMC: XBMC-xvba (13.0-ALPHA3 Git:41061a8),
Platform: Linux (Ubuntu 12.10 - XBMCbuntu, 3.5.0-19-generic i686). Built on Apr 5 2013
Debug Log: http://www.xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=17403

Audio Output: _______Playback Options: ___ Video Output:
Image Image Image

Tried changing A/V Sync options already, but that made no difference.
I guess its related to dirty region rendering. Without video in the background, the buffers do not get flipped.

This leads to CRenderManager::WaitForBuffer - timeout waiting for buffer

You could try to turn off DR and see if it changes something. Also try the xbmc-xvba-testing ppa, since there have been changes related to DR and video lately.
Thanks, but that doesn't seem to solve it sadly. What I did as of yet:

I tried setting dirty regions to this (which should turn it off I'd think?)

Code:
<algorithmdirtyregions>0</algorithmdirtyregions>
<nofliptimeout>-1</nofliptimeout>