Live TV from DVB-T tuner (USB or other) without backend
I tried all the PVR solutions out there and they are not stable, they are too slow and they are damn hard to set up (MySql?!?)
How far are we from a BASIC tv tuner card support? like VLC for example.
Not going to happen as far as I know.
IF there are many users who want TV tuner support
and IF no one is working on that
I will consider making a standalone plugin using forked code from VLC.
Which OS are you using?

Consider this: LiveTV is available for most people via their TV. There is little advantage to adding it to XBMC unless you also add the ability to pause etc. That means essentially recording the stream. Therefore you are building a new PVR, which is something that the XBMC devs see no purpose in doing given the number of PVR projects out there already.

I haven't found mythtv difficult to set up, but I have been using it outside XBMC for a few years. There is no mysql setup needed to speak of if you use mythbuntu. It sets it all up for you.

PS if you need a hand setting up mythtv, let me know.
Also if you want live DVB-T in XBMC, get a HD Homerun Smile
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
People who may want this functionality are those who look for low cost solutions, not wanting to pay for satellite or cable. DVB-T is a free over the air Television that is popular in Europe (I don't know the american equivalent, perhaps ATSC).
Buying an 11$ USB dongle is enough for a lifetime of free HD television so that may appeal to many people around the world.
Yeah but your TV tunes DVB-T anyway, if you want live TV use it.

If you want PVR use a solution that already works well.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)