[WIP] SteamBMC - Launch and play Steam games from XBMC (v1.0.0, buggy but works)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
Trying to launch a game, I get the following:

Quote:13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: XBPyThread::Process - Entering source directory C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.programs.steambmcdev
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: Instantiating addon using automatically obtained id of "plugin.programs.steambmcdev" dependent on version 2.1.0 of the xbmc.python api
13:43:36 T:3016 NOTICE: SteamBMC (SteamBMC) Version 1.0.0
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: Our CMD : {'do': ['game'], 'game_id': ['65800']}
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: Our ARGV: ['plugin://plugin.programs.steambmcdev/', '-1', '?do=game&game_id=65800']
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: Generating owned games list
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: LocalizeStrings: no strings.po file exist at C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.programs.steambmcdev\resources​\language\english, fallback to strings.xml
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: DialogProgress::StartModal called
13:43:36 T:3016 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (DialogProgress.xml) ------
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: Note: Game time specified via alternate means -- not yet implemented (FIXME)
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: Previous line repeats 1 times.
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: <steamapi.SteamGame object at 0x153E8DF0>
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: 65800
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: Dungeon Defenders
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: ['65800']
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: You are running:
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: win32
13:43:37 T:3016 NOTICE: Starting Steam game #65800 under Windows
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is active
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProc: Focus switched to process C:\Windows\SysWOW64\cmd.exe
13:43:37 T:3016 INFO: Scriptresult: Aborted
13:43:37 T:3016 INFO: Python script stopped
13:43:37 T:3016 DEBUG: Thread XBPyThread 3016 terminating
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: CJoystick::Initialize : No Joystick found
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is active
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: waiting for python thread 30 (C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.programs.steambmcdev\default.​py) to stop
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: python thread 30 (C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.programs.steambmcdev\default.​py) destructed
13:43:37 T:4308 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (DialogProgress.xml) ------
13:43:46 T:6492 DEBUG: Suspended the Sink
13:43:49 T:7984 DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 7984 terminating (autodelete)
13:43:49 T:1648 DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 1648 terminating (autodelete)
13:43:49 T:8236 DEBUG: Thread Jobworker 8236 terminating (autodelete)
13:43:50 T:4308 DEBUG: SECTION:UnloadDelayed(DLL: special://xbmcbin/system/ImageLib.dll)
13:43:51 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is active
13:43:51 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProc: Focus switched to process C:\Windows\System32\notepad.exe
13:43:51 T:4308 DEBUG: CJoystick::Initialize : No Joystick found
13:43:51 T:4308 DEBUG: CWinEventsWin32::WndProcWindow is active
13:45:57 T:8256 DEBUG: Previous line repeats 1 times.
13:45:57 T:8256 DEBUG: ### [Qlock] - Delaying 240 secs

I hope that helps, if not I can post the entire log.
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #32
Does the game fail to launch?
What OS & XBMC version?
find quote
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
(2013-05-31 20:03)tom66 Wrote:  Does the game fail to launch?
What OS & XBMC version?

Yes, the game (Dungeon Defenders) fails to launch.

Code:
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Starting XBMC (12.2 Git:20130502-32b1a5e), Platform: Windows 7 SP1 64-bit, build 7601. Built on May  2 2013 (compiler 1600)
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Desktop Resolution: 1920x1080 32Bit at 60Hz
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Running with restricted rights
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Aero is enabled
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: special://xbmc/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: special://xbmcbin/ is mapped to: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: special://masterprofile/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: special://home/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: special://temp/ is mapped to: C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\cache
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: The executable running is: C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\XBMC.exe
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Local hostname: Desktop
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: Log File is located: C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\xbmc.log
16:50:54 T:9100  NOTICE: -----------------------------------------------------------------------
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #34
Do other games launch successfully?
find quote
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #35
(2013-05-31 23:25)tom66 Wrote:  Do other games launch successfully?

I just tried "Dynamite Jack" and it failed to launch as well. I'm more than willing to help you with any logs or things you'd like me to try, this seems like a great alternative to RCB and Advanced Launcher, both of which are a real pain to set up.
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #36
I'm trying to figure out what's different between your platform and mine, because I've tested it on Windows 7 64-bit and it works well. What version of Steam are you using? Willing to beta test a copy of v1.0.3? It has an improved game launcher and Linux support (not that that matters to you, but it means I have rewritten the launcher to be a bit nicer across both platforms, a switch to subprocess fork instead of os.system launcher.)
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-01 16:07 by tom66.)
find quote
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
(2013-06-01 16:03)tom66 Wrote:  I'm trying to figure out what's different between your platform and mine, because I've tested it on Windows 7 64-bit and it works well. What version of Steam are you using? Willing to beta test a copy of v1.0.3? It has an improved game launcher and Linux support (not that that matters to you, but it means I have rewritten the launcher to be a bit nicer across both platforms, a switch to subprocess fork instead of os.system launcher.)

Sure, no problem, PM me instructions or post, as you wish.
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #38
OK, here is 1.0.3, which should be a semi-stable release.

Tested on Ubuntu and Windows 7, XBMC 12.2 Frodo release.

New Features (from 1.0.0):
- Now supports Linux (Ubuntu 12.04 tested)
- New "missing artwork" icon for games without artwork
- Minimise/Quit on game launch
- Improved game launching
- Major code structure changes
- Warns if Steam custom URL can't be accessed

Bugfixes (from 1.0.0)
- Fixed infinite timeout bug which occurred sometimes when launching games
- UTF-8 bugs squished
- Default background fanart now properly configured
- Minor localisation changes

Get it here: http://www.tgohome.com/SteamBMC/releases...-1.0.3.zip

Source will be pushed shortly to Google Code.
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-02 00:25 by tom66.)
find quote
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
I tried version 1.0.3, but it's still not launching the games for me. Here's the log file with debugging turned on: SteamBMC log
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #40
As far as I can see it looks like it is launching the Steam call properly, but Steam is not launching using that.

Please can you tell me what version of Steam you are using?

Can you check if the following command in "Run" or a command prompt makes a game launch:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe -applaunch 65800

If not you may need to update/reinstall Steam.
find quote
Lucleonhart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #41
Hi there and many thanks for the awesome addon!

Eerything is looking good so far, i got the list of games, the Fanart in the background and steam starts when i press play on a title.
The onl thing which is missing is the game icon.
I tried Aeon Now (which is my default skin) and confluence. Both did not display any icon both in banner or Icon mode.

Any help?
Using v1.0.3 with XBMC 12.2 on Windows 7.

I just checked the logs and found this:
Code:
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Torchlight II
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Iconimage for game Torchlight II: C:\Users\Luca\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\addon_data\plugin.programs.steambmcd​ev\artworkcache\game_200710_logo_1.png
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Fanart for game Torchlight II: C:\Users\Luca\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\addon_data\plugin.programs.steambmcd​ev\artworkcache\game_200710_promo_1.jpg
So when i open p the Fanart image, it is the Fanart as supposed. When i open the Iconimage it is a transparent square. Sad
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-03 19:09 by Lucleonhart.)
find quote
bkimbel Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #42
(2013-06-03 18:15)tom66 Wrote:  As far as I can see it looks like it is launching the Steam call properly, but Steam is not launching using that.

Please can you tell me what version of Steam you are using?

Can you check if the following command in "Run" or a command prompt makes a game launch:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe -applaunch 65800

If not you may need to update/reinstall Steam.

Yes, running that command starts the game. I'm running Steam API v012, Built May 3 2013, Steam Package Version 1367621987.

I found this thread, which suggests a possible problem with long path names: Steam Launcher Post #8
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #43
(2013-06-03 19:04)Lucleonhart Wrote:  Hi there and many thanks for the awesome addon!

Eerything is looking good so far, i got the list of games, the Fanart in the background and steam starts when i press play on a title.
The onl thing which is missing is the game icon.
I tried Aeon Now (which is my default skin) and confluence. Both did not display any icon both in banner or Icon mode.

Any help?
Using v1.0.3 with XBMC 12.2 on Windows 7.

I just checked the logs and found this:
Code:
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Torchlight II
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Iconimage for game Torchlight II: C:\Users\Luca\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\addon_data\plugin.programs.steambmcd​ev\artworkcache\game_200710_logo_1.png
19:00:51 T:6604  NOTICE: Fanart for game Torchlight II: C:\Users\Luca\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\userdata\addon_data\plugin.programs.steambmcd​ev\artworkcache\game_200710_promo_1.jpg
So when i open p the Fanart image, it is the Fanart as supposed. When i open the Iconimage it is a transparent square. Sad

Please try the Refresh Fanart Cache option in the settings menu; if that does not work delete your TexturesNN.db file in userdata/Database (I think 13 for XBMC 12.2) which will force refresh of thumbnails.

edit: Also turn off the Transparent Border option as it is presently broken (it should be fixed soon, but most skins don't seem to need it.)
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-04 11:16 by tom66.)
find quote
tom66 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #44
(2013-06-03 20:01)bkimbel Wrote:  
(2013-06-03 18:15)tom66 Wrote:  As far as I can see it looks like it is launching the Steam call properly, but Steam is not launching using that.

Please can you tell me what version of Steam you are using?

Can you check if the following command in "Run" or a command prompt makes a game launch:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steam.exe -applaunch 65800

If not you may need to update/reinstall Steam.

Yes, running that command starts the game. I'm running Steam API v012, Built May 3 2013, Steam Package Version 1367621987.

I found this thread, which suggests a possible problem with long path names: Steam Launcher Post #8

It's a very strange problem indeed, and unfortunately I'm not sure why it's occurring. I'm escaping the paths correctly so there should be no problem with that.
find quote
Lucleonhart Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #45
(2013-06-03 21:28)tom66 Wrote:  Please try the Refresh Fanart Cache option in the settings menu; if that does not work delete your TexturesNN.db file in userdata/Database (I think 13 for XBMC 12.2) which will force refresh of thumbnails.

edit: Also turn off the Transparent Border option as it is presently broken (it should be fixed soon, but most skins don't seem to need it.)
Thanks for the suggestion! I disabled the transparent border option and it works now. Seems to be pretty broken to me. Wink

Edit: I am using Aeon Nox which has a beautiful "Landscape" View Mode for Movies and TV Shows. Does anybody know how i can enable this viewtype for SteamBMC? The Logos are totally cropped in Any Viewmode except of InfoWall which is ugly. ^^
(This post was last modified: 2013-06-04 16:11 by Lucleonhart.)
find quote
Post Reply