Geniatech ATV1200 Composite Picture
Hi everyone, thanks in advance for any help you can offer in response to my total noob question!

I have today received my ATV1200 (well, it's a Sumvision Cyclone X2, but it's just repackaged hardware), so this evening, I've happily pugged everything in and powered it up ready to enter the world of Android for the first time (I know, latecomer to the party as always!) and to get XBMC on my main TV in living room rather than having to carry the Mac through each time I want to watch something from the armchair.

The problem I have is I don't have an HD TV and bought the Cyclone/ATV1200 specifically as it had composite outputs (obviously, I'll upgrade eventually, but while there's nothing wrong with my old Panny, I'm loathe to get shot of it) Anyway, having plugged everything in and connected through the composite out, I have absolutely no picture on the screen, I've tried all 3 TV inputs and reset the unit a few times but still no image and no signs of life other than the lights on the front of the box.

Are these boxes automatically set to HDMI output out of the box? If so, is there any way I can change the output remotely (either through connecting a keyboard and inputting a series of keypresses or something like that)? Alternatively, does it sound to you guys like I just have a dud?

Like I said, noob question; but without any kind of display, I can't even get into settings and start messing about!

Any advice (other than "buy a HDTV") will be greeted with my eternal gratitude.

Thanks,
MB78.
Hi Mightyblues,

A very late reply, but I have just bought a second-hand ATV1200 and ran into the very same problem you have, or had.

In case you see this, could you tell me if in the meantime you have found some shortcut to start the thing up in A/V i.s.o. HDMI?

Thanks!
Hi Hansfree,