Support Thread for libstagefright

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
JeffTheGeek Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
(2013-01-15 17:43)da-anda Wrote:  JeffTheGeek - give free dice player a try. On playback it will show a [SW] or [HW] icon in the top left corner of the GUI overlay which indicates software/hardware decoding.

Hi, Tried dice player, and the monsters sample doesn't play (im guessing because of the dts sound track), but planet plays fine and has the HW icon up the top left.
find quote
DDM123 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
Crazy disco colors as reported before by someone else. Frame rate seems to be full-speed, or at least quite close.
Galaxy Nexus, CM10 (JB 4.2.1)

720p x264
[Image: screenshot2013011514115.png]
SD x264
[Image: screenshot2013011514124.png]


http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28293

Thanks for all the hard work guys.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-15 22:07 by DDM123.)
find quote
droshi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
Device: ODROID-X2
Android: 4.0.4 from this post: http://odroid.foros-phpbb.com/t1985-late...-odroid-x2
Source: SMB mounted folder
File Types: 480i, 720p and 1080p up to a max 41GB files (mix of avi, mkv and m2ts files)


  • Most 480i files play fine
  • Heavily compressed 720p plays fine (approx 700MB)
  • Normal 720p (4GB) has low frame rate (~8-9fps) but screen is black and audio drops out after 10s of playback
  • Normal 1080p (~10GB) experiences same issue as above, I believe these are all compressed in x264
  • Full 1080p (40+GB) shows video, but low frame rate at around 10-20fps...but continues playing at just a low framerate. All of these are direct m2ts files. One CPU also seems to list itself at 100%, while the other cores stay at a lower %.

Overall I'm guessing libstagefright isn't loading, and that I'm getting normal single-core software decoding. I also experience no hard-crash and I could stop video playback anytime.

Log is here:
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28289



For me, the best XBMC experience has been to use an external player with MX player using only software decoding and all 4 cores.
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,129
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 44
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #34
Guys, I should have pointed out that I updated the main post with an alternate version (i.e. HW decoder, SW renderer) for those having issue with the 1st one.
find quote
mdalacu Online
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Post: #35
I have tested this sw version and it is much better on Note 2 (not anymore screen tearing or artifacts) but I have tested with some heavier x264 (720p and 6 GB) mkvs and frame dropping appears. The same files in mx or bsp player plays just fine so some more optimisations are needed in libstagefright.
find quote
droshi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #36
(2013-01-15 22:11)Koying Wrote:  Guys, I should have pointed out that I updated the main post with an alternate version (i.e. HW decoder, SW renderer) for those having issue with the 1st one.

I have tested the SW renderer version, it seems different, but still can't handle most 1080p files (on a 1.7ghz clocked quad-core device). I think the problem is that MX player seems to handle multiple cores better. I'll try to get a log file, but it may take some time since I've updated to JB.

I also updated to a JellyBean release, not sure if it will help as mentioned this is only for ICS. But thought I would let you guys know that I experienced similar issues with x264 decoding. Also had a crash on this log:
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28309
find quote
manxam Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 3
Post: #37
Koying, I noted the SW rendering version but asked myself what the point was? Is the reason for HW decoding a) faster decoding (or possibly allowing higher bitrate video) while reducing CPU usage b) better battery usage as a result of (a)?

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding?

I really wish we could just 'borrow' the decoder from someone else like BS or MX Smile

Again, thanks for the work you've devoted to this though!
find quote
raffaelediana Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
TEST #1

Device: Minix Neo X5 (RockChip RK3066 + MALI 400)

File: h264_1080p_hp_4.1_10mbps_dts_unstyled_subs_monsters.mkv

Result KO: Frozen image. Audio for few seconds. After locked. Some seconds to exit. Unplayable.

Log: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28314
find quote
raffaelediana Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
TEST #2

Device: Minix Neo X5 (RockChip RK3066 + MALI 400)

File: Io Robot 3D.mkv

Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (High), yuv420p, 1920x1080, SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9, 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 48003.07 tbn, 47.95 tbc (default)
Stream #0:1(ita): Audio: dts (DTS), 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), s16, 768 kb/s (default)

Result KO: BLACK screen. Audio for few seconds. After locked. Some seconds to exit. Unplayable.

Log: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28316[hr]
TEST #3

Device: Minix Neo X5 (RockChip RK3066 + MALI 400)

File: Cars Motori Ruggenti.mkv

Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264 (High), yuv420p, 1920x800 [SAR 1:1 DAR 12:5], 23.98 fps, 23.98 tbr, 1k tbn, 47.95 tbc (default)
Stream #0:1(ita): Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), s16, 640 kb/s (default)

Result OK (...): Only some artifacts.

Log: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=28319
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-16 00:21 by raffaelediana.)
find quote
manxam Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 3
Post: #40
@doggod: what device is this on?

I've tried BS and MX on Galaxy Tab 7+ (Exynos Mali 400), Galaxy S2 T989 (Snapdragon Adreno 220), Galaxy S2 I9100 (Exynos Mail 400), and Coby Kyros (VC882 A8 Mali 400) and hardware acceleration worked well on all of them.
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-16 05:04 by manxam.)
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,129
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 44
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #41
(2013-01-15 23:39)manxam Wrote:  Is the reason for HW decoding ...
See my previous post. The actual reason was that 1080p was not working properly on my Nexus 7 (~12fps).
I guess the SW path internally actually mean taking the HW frames and translate them in a standard color format (YUV).

It is internally called "thumbnail mode" which says a lot...
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,129
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 44
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #42
(2013-01-16 00:00)dhead Wrote:  My only reference is this.
Please see this for a more complete explanation: http://elinux.org/images/5/52/Elc2011_garcia.pdf

(2013-01-16 00:00)dhead Wrote:  I guessed that any OpenMAX compatible SoC would support Stagefright, and maybe the non OpenMAX compatible SoC (like Allwinner, Amlogic, Rockchip, Telechip) may support Stagefright through their own API.
Note that beside the SOC supporting a HW codec, your device vendor must also have licensed them.

(2013-01-16 00:00)dhead Wrote:  II believe it's important to clarify what SoC can be supported by libstagefright (hw decoding) so users would know what devices to test.
Bottom line: We aim for generic support with this one. If MX/BS/Dice support HW decoding on your device, we aim to do too.
find quote
da-anda Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,162
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 39
Location: germany
Post: #43
you first have to uninstall the old XBMC version from your device. You can't update in this case because the test builds here use a different signature then the official builds and Android doesn't like that for updates.
find quote
Prebbish Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #44
(2013-01-16 16:36)da-anda Wrote:  you first have to uninstall the old XBMC version from your device. You can't update in this case because the test builds here use a different signature then the official builds and Android doesn't like that for updates.

Geez, was it that easy Huh

Thanks alot!! I'll give a try and see how it works out for me

Edit: I just tried the Birds 1080p and Planet 720p and both works like a charm. Didn't set it to debug mode, so no log. I'll try to upload it later Wink
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-16 16:49 by Prebbish.)
find quote
Koying Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,129
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 44
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Post: #45
(2013-01-16 16:44)Prebbish Wrote:  Edit: I just tried the Birds 1080p and Planet 720p and both works like a charm. Didn't set it to debug mode, so no log. I'll try to upload it later Wink

Well, if everything works perfectly, we have a pretty good idea what the log looks like Wink
find quote
Post Reply