XBMC Video Server: stream/download your library contents

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,355
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #661
What do you mean when you say it doesn't work? Is the "watch in browser" button visible?
find quote
publisacman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #662
No the "watch in browser" button is not visible when i trie converting with handbrake. Probably a problem in the settings when im converting the videos or something
find quote
publisacman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #663
how do i make sure that im updated to your latest version?
if this is in my changelog
#### 1.6.10
* include the address when logging login attempts
* update icons in the watch modal dialog
* enable the "Watch in browser" button for H.264/AAC/MKV files too since they work in Chrome
* added missing logging when the "Watch in browser" button is clicked

does that mean im good?

is there a way i can enable the watch in browser button regardless of video format? plex.tv is very similar to this and is able to play all my file format, granted i have no idea how it works in the background Tongue all my files are either mkv, mp4 or avi.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-24 23:09 by publisacman.)
find quote
publisacman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #664
(sorry about the consecutive posts)
http://imgur.com/oEDzhL8
with this video for example the "play in browser" button does not show up , i am using chrome.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-25 08:25 by publisacman.)
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,355
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #665
(2014-09-24 23:02)publisacman Wrote:  how do i make sure that im updated to your latest version?
if this is in my changelog
#### 1.6.10
* include the address when logging login attempts
* update icons in the watch modal dialog
* enable the "Watch in browser" button for H.264/AAC/MKV files too since they work in Chrome
* added missing logging when the "Watch in browser" button is clicked

does that mean im good?

is there a way i can enable the watch in browser button regardless of video format? plex.tv is very similar to this and is able to play all my file format, granted i have no idea how it works in the background Tongue all my files are either mkv, mp4 or avi.

If you follow the upgrade instructions on Github you will be on the latest version. In your case it seems like you are.
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,355
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #666
(2014-09-25 08:24)publisacman Wrote:  (sorry about the consecutive posts)
http://imgur.com/oEDzhL8
with this video for example the "play in browser" button does not show up , i am using chrome.

Can you upload a sample somewhere (preferably mega.co.nz, they're fast).
find quote
publisacman Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #667
heres the link to one of the videos
https://mega.co.nz/#!jpNRSQTb!8FfsCg0aON...zHHxPybWW0
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,355
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #668
@publisacman: the problem with that file is that for some reason XBMC can't parse the media info from it, which means XBMC Video Server can't determine whether it's playable in the browser or not. I've modified the code to only look at the file extension when no stream details are available, this should fix your issue. Run a "git pull" to get the latest code.
find quote
tsthomas Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #669
Hello,

at first I want to thank you for this great script. Everything works fine, except of the reverse proxy part in my system. Therefore I would ask you for help. As an example, let's take this file:
http://admin:password@localhost:8099/vfs/E%3a%5Cdata%5CMedien%5CFilme%5CKeinohrhasen.MP4
So, 8099 is my XBMC port and the file is available like this (at least locally, because port 8099 is not opened in the firewall)

My httpd.conf looks like this:
Code:
...
LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
#LoadModule proxy_ajp_module modules/mod_proxy_ajp.so
#LoadModule proxy_balancer_module #modules/mod_proxy_balancer.so
#LoadModule proxy_connect_module #modules/mod_proxy_connect.so
#LoadModule proxy_express_module #modules/mod_proxy_express.so
#LoadModule proxy_fcgi_module modules/mod_proxy_fcgi.so
#LoadModule proxy_ftp_module modules/mod_proxy_ftp.so
#LoadModule proxy_html_module modules/mod_proxy_html.so
LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so
#LoadModule proxy_scgi_module modules/mod_proxy_scgi.so
#LoadModule proxy_wstunnel_module #modules/mod_proxy_wstunnel.so
...

And my httpd-proxy.conf looks like that:
Code:
#
# Implements a proxy/gateway for Apache.
# # Required modules: mod_proxy, mod_proxy_http
#

<IfModule proxy_module>
<IfModule proxy_http_module>

AllowEncodedSlashes On
<Location "/Film">
    ProxyPass http://localhost:8099/vfs
    ProxyPassReverse http://localhost:8099/vfs
    RequestHeader set Authorization "Basic xxxxxxxxxx"
</Location>

</IfModule>
</IfModule>

But if I am trying to open the link like that
http://server.späth.eu/Film/E%3a%5Cdata%...rhasen.MP4
an Error 404 occured.

If I am just opening
http://server.späth.eu/Film/
at least the title "Chorus." and the content "Loading Application" is shown. (I'm using Chorus as a web interface until now).

Can you help me or give me an advice, what I can do?
Thank you

Thomas
find quote
willburstyle06 Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #670
Hey, I know you said you modified the code to only look at the file extensions when its trying to figure out if it can play in browser but at least for me its able to play some mkv files in browser and other mkv files it can't. It seems to be the mkv files with the 5-7 channel dts audio and the bigger mkv files it has trouble recognizing. Almost all my files are mkv. I just installed the latest version today in windows and the browser I'm using is chrome
(This post was last modified: Today 11:30 by willburstyle06.)
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,355
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #671
It only allows MKV if the audio and video codecs are also determined to be supported. At the moment only H.264 and AAC audio is marked as compatible.
find quote
willburstyle06 Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #672
Oh ok...any plans on supporting more audio and video codecs in the future? It would be awesome to be able to stream everything in browser
(This post was last modified: Today 15:15 by willburstyle06.)
find quote
Post Reply