Req Xbmc Offline mode for chosen library items like Spotify
Hi all,

First of all thank you all for a great program and a great community.
I have been using XBMC now for over 10 years and I love it.

Only thing I am missing right now is the ability to make some library content, like Tv shows or Movies available offline.

Think that you have your smb/nfs/ftp share at home and you are going on vacation. You want to watch you favourite series on your vacation but you cannot connect to home cause no internet or expensive internet.

Then before going on vacation you have Xbmc on you laptop or IPAD or other XBMC device.

It scrapes everything from your smb/nfs/ftp share and you have your library on your device.

After that you are able to make it available offline by going to one Season or one movie or one episode and in the context menu mark it as available offline. XBMC then downloads the .mkv or .avi files locally and in the library maps them to the local copy on your hard drive.

When you the start up XBMC it verifys your smb/nfs/ftp share, finds that it is offline and in the library it hides (or is greyed out) everything that is not offline synced.

You can then sit on the beach and watch your favourite episodes/movies that you made available offline.
I got this idea from watching how Spotify does it.

What do you think guys?
Is it doable?
Any one else want the same feature?
Should be possible with work being done right now for GSoC, I think.
So how can we get this in to motion? Smile
Wait for the outcome of the work being done by GSoC? Unless you're offering to help code? Wink
Aha Got it Smile
Perfect!
This sounds like a great idea.