Audio issues
I'm relatively new to xbmc, so please bear with me. I'm running xbmc on my laptop connected to my tv via HDMI. I've barely scratched the surface of streaming and mostly I've been running video files stored on the laptop. I ran into an issue with no audio when I hooked up the laptop to the tv. I did a search on here and found some queries where folks suggested making a change to Analog (I believe). Here's what I've attempted:
  • After starting the video, I went to Audio and changed from HDMI to Analog (and back)
  • In System Settings, I have changed audio to Analog from HDMI (and back)
I'm not sure which one I need to be changing (both?), but I would change, test, change another, test, change again. From what I can tell, I need my audio on HDMI in order to get sound to the tv. But I'm not 100% certain as to which setting needs to be what. Every time I hook the laptop to the tv, I need to "tweak" audio settings until I find one that works. What is the secret combination I need and make it *stick* so that the next time I run a video it will transmit to the tv?
OK, I think I have it figured out when watching the video files stored on my laptop.

So tonight I tried streaming a show using the 1channel addon. The video played just fine. If I played it on the laptop, I got sound. If I hooked it to the tv via HDMI, I got no sound - no sound from the laptop, none from the tv. No matter which option for audio I chose. I tried every option I could think of. What is the trick to get the sound to play if the laptop is connected via HDMI?
Just to be clear, when playing videos in XBMC on your laptop that is connected to your TV via HDMI:
  • Are you able to hear audio on your TV when you play video files stored on your laptop's hard drive?
  • Are you able to hear audio on your TV when you stream videos using supported video add-ons such as the ones for YouTube, cnet, TED Talks or PBS?