BUG - Video is not smooth after broadcaster switch 4:3<->16:9

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
XBMC 13 compiled today. TV channel is dvb-t, SD. Sometimes broadcaster switches video aspect ratio between 16:9 and 4:3. In this case, xbmc should change display according to saved video settings.

Since xbmc 13 (compiled today from latest master) after this switching, video is no longer smootch. I need to stop playback and start it again to make video playback smootch.

Unfortunatelly I don't have debug log. This was during live tv playback and I didn't have debug enabled. Anyone have the same issue? I'll try to enable debug next time I have the chance, to provide more information and I'll post debug log here. But I need to wait for broadcaster to emit such material again.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-13 10:29 by giaur.)
find quote
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
Bump... Gotham beta1, the same issue. Anybody?
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #3
You can enable debugging permanently without getting the debug information on the screen, see advancedsettings.xml.
find quote
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
Ok, so this is debug log:
http://pastebin.com/y1KEkM7a

I started Live TV, after a while broadcaster changed ratio from 16:9 to 4:3. After this, I have slideshow instead of video and I need to stop playback and start again.

Can anybody look into my log?
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #5
You could file a bug report on trac.xbmc.org, that should attract more developer attention. I took a quick look but can't make anything out of it.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,435
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 67
Location: Munich
Post: #6
tv headend does not report the change in aspect ratio. it should trigger reopen of decoder. If it did you would see those in the log
CDVDDemuxPVRClient::RequestStreams()

So report the issue to tv headend
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #7
Yeah I was searching for that too but couldn't find it. I guess we found the root cause.
find quote
adamsutton Offline
Moderator
Posts: 277
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 16
Post: #8
@giaur I agree with FernetMenta, a quick scan of the code (I'm not that familiar with this area of TVH, having not had much call to touch it) that it does look like TVH does not output a substart message after an aspect ratio change. If you have channels where this is common what would really help is if a) you report on tvheadend.org, as suggested and b) you attach a sample stream that covers a change over. Only needs to be a short period either side.

Adam
find quote
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #9
Ok, so first I'm going to update to latest tvheadend (I have rather old version), then test again and report if this issue still exists. I thought this is caused rather by xbmc, so didn't care about tvheadend. I remeber it worked some time ago and then stopped to work.

It's not so common (almost all is 16:9) but very annoying.
find quote
adamsutton Offline
Moderator
Posts: 277
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 16
Post: #10
@giaur the issue definitely exists, I've checked the code and discussed with Andreas. His take on it is that explicitly including this in the mux metadata should not be necessary, it implies a broken player. However as usual we'll almost certainly have to fix it rather than get XBMC to sort itself out. But I have started looking.
find quote
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #11
Is there any ticket for this on tvheadend that I can subscribe? I'm interested in update as soon as it's fixed. Or if it can help, I can report this and provide sample saved stream.

Also you are probably right about broken player, I can remember that older xbmc (12?) didn't have this issue. Also openelec on Raspberry pi is not affected, possibly because it uses omx player. That's why I assumed it's xbmc problem.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,435
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 67
Location: Munich
Post: #12
@giaur

hard to tell if we have an issue with the player here. You did not provide a debug log of a supported version of XBMC. The version you have used is build with external ffmpeg/libav.
find quote
username145 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #13
--
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-13 09:32 by username145.)
find quote
giaur Offline
Fan
Posts: 466
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #14
(2014-03-13 09:12)FernetMenta Wrote:  The version you have used is build with external ffmpeg/libav.
Hmm. Not internal ffmpeg? I compiled it by myself and installed via make install. All default options for ./configure, something like this:
Code:
./configure --prefix=/xbmc --disable-debug
In configure summary I had "use external ffmpeg: no".

Also I don't have this bug anymore: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=188443
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,435
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 67
Location: Munich
Post: #15
sorry, I was wrong. misinterpreted the log.
Can you provide a recording with a change in aspect ratio?
find quote
Post Reply