[RELEASE] Chrome Launcher

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,017
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 41
Location: Down Under
Post: #136
(2014-03-17 06:08)Ja4220 Wrote:  Hi Guys,
I have got this addon working to a degree (on XBMCbuntu 12.3 Acer Revo 3600, using the 1.07 fork, with the script
#!/bin/bash
openbox &
chromium-browser "$@" &
wait %2
kill %1

I am trying to use it to stream live NRL games through http://www.new.livestream.com/nrl which I added as a website and it opens Chromium up on that page (full address bar etc, mouse works ok)
Unfortunately video playback is just super choppy. I know I have enough bandwidth as I can stream them fine on my Windows Laptop. I tested a HD youtube video which played fine so I can only assume flash is working.
I found this thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?pid...3pid994231
I am wondering if maybe something like this could be implemented? And if it would actually help?
If anyone has any ideas or suggestions I am all ears.
I know that this isn't really an issue with the script, more Chromium and how it is handling the videos but thought I would ask here and hope for the best!
Thanks in advance.
Justin

Flash on Linux is garbage, more so than other platforms. In my experience hardware acceleration doesn't work too well and it doesn't play all steams (my kitchen rules). Try using a compositing manager which might help(I use compton) although I suspect vdpau isn't being used and the CPU isn't enough to decode the video - have a look in the program 'top' while playing a video to check CPU usage.

There is also pipelight which uses the windows version of flash via wine which allows me to play more streams in Linux, but not sure how much that would help.

My Add-ons, only available for XBMC:
Steam Launcher|Music Party Mode|Reboot2oOS|Triple J Radio
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-28 04:43 by teeedubb.)
find quote
flaviobrandao Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #137
(2014-03-18 20:02)thebeater Wrote:  Hi Guys,

I have installed the plugin, but the chrome launcher doesn't work.

With the script
Code:
#!/bin/bash
openbox &
chromium-browser "$@" &
wait %2
kill %1
it will start nothing, only the error in german "Keine Verbindung zum Netzlaufwerk" appears.(Freely translated "No network connection")

The xbmc.log only appears:
Code:
18:57:46 T:2904542016  NOTICE: Thread JobWorker start, auto delete: true
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de) failed
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:2912934720  NOTICE: Thread BackgroundLoader start, auto delete: false

Google Chrome is installed to:
/usr/bin/google-chrome
Chromium is installed to:
/usr/bin/chromium-browser

Without activating the custom chrome path,
google Chrome is starting in half screen and is not controllable. (mouse, testator and Remote are in the background -> i see it in the right half of the screen)
(I think it is because of the missing Openbox, or am I wrong here)

Could anyone help me please with this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

almost the same problem here... I'm getting half screen sized chrome/chromium and no mouse/keyboard controll Confused
find quote
cyaconi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #138
(2014-03-29 20:46)flaviobrandao Wrote:  
(2014-03-18 20:02)thebeater Wrote:  Hi Guys,

I have installed the plugin, but the chrome launcher doesn't work.

With the script
Code:
#!/bin/bash
openbox &
chromium-browser "$@" &
wait %2
kill %1
it will start nothing, only the error in german "Keine Verbindung zum Netzlaufwerk" appears.(Freely translated "No network connection")

The xbmc.log only appears:
Code:
18:57:46 T:2904542016  NOTICE: Thread JobWorker start, auto delete: true
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de) failed
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:2912934720  NOTICE: Thread BackgroundLoader start, auto delete: false

Google Chrome is installed to:
/usr/bin/google-chrome
Chromium is installed to:
/usr/bin/chromium-browser

Without activating the custom chrome path,
google Chrome is starting in half screen and is not controllable. (mouse, testator and Remote are in the background -> i see it in the right half of the screen)
(I think it is because of the missing Openbox, or am I wrong here)

Could anyone help me please with this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

almost the same problem here... I'm getting half screen sized chrome/chromium and no mouse/keyboard controll Confused

Exactly the same problem.

Thanks!
find quote
tmiland Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Norway
Post: #139
How can i make this work? I am getting the half-window, and not able to close chrome, or navigate... :/

*Edit
I got it working, had to install unity on xbmcbuntu.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-04 09:18 by tmiland.)
find quote
Thav Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #140
(2014-03-18 20:02)thebeater Wrote:  Hi Guys,

I have installed the plugin, but the chrome launcher doesn't work.

With the script
Code:
#!/bin/bash
openbox &
chromium-browser "$@" &
wait %2
kill %1
it will start nothing, only the error in german "Keine Verbindung zum Netzlaufwerk" appears.(Freely translated "No network connection")

The xbmc.log only appears:
Code:
18:57:46 T:2904542016  NOTICE: Thread JobWorker start, auto delete: true
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:46 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de
18:57:47 T:3006953280   ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.program.chrome.launcher/?kiosk=no&mode=showSite&stopPlayback=yes&url=http%3a%2f%2fwww.amazon.de) failed
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: Thread LanguageInvoker start, auto delete: false
18:57:47 T:2921327424  NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
18:57:47 T:2912934720  NOTICE: Thread BackgroundLoader start, auto delete: false

Google Chrome is installed to:
/usr/bin/google-chrome
Chromium is installed to:
/usr/bin/chromium-browser

Without activating the custom chrome path,
google Chrome is starting in half screen and is not controllable. (mouse, testator and Remote are in the background -> i see it in the right half of the screen)
(I think it is because of the missing Openbox, or am I wrong here)

Could anyone help me please with this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

I was not getting the half Chrome problem you're describing, but the same errors in xbmc.log and the same script (running XBMCbuntu). Problem was solved for me by running 'dos2unix' on the script. I had copied and modified the one that was provided with the plugin, but apparently the line endings were bad.
find quote
Nerdy3.14159265 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #141
So I tested the script that I have on my Steam OS machine, on the desktop and it properly ran and I could tell metacity was ran. However, from big picture to xbmc and running it via the chrome launcher it doesn't do anything. It has a little waiting thing come up in the corner and nothing happens.
find quote
Ja4220 Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #142
(2014-03-28 04:17)teeedubb Wrote:  Flash on Linux is garbage, more so than other platforms. In my experience hardware acceleration doesn't work too well and it doesn't play all steams (my kitchen rules). Try using a compositing manager which might help(I use compton) although I suspect vdpau isn't being used and the CPU isn't enough to decode the video - have a look in the program 'top' while playing a video to check CPU usage.

There is also pipelight which uses the windows version of flash via wine which allows me to play more streams in Linux, but not sure how much that would help.

Thanks teeedubb.
I came to this conclusion after reading a bit more online.
I am away at the moment but found a few options to try improve it (such as pipe light)
I will look in to compton more as I am not familiar with it and hopefully it may help.
find quote
isitmeor Offline
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #143
(2014-04-03 04:34)Nerdy3.14159265 Wrote:  So I tested the script that I have on my Steam OS machine, on the desktop and it properly ran and I could tell metacity was ran. However, from big picture to xbmc and running it via the chrome launcher it doesn't do anything. It has a little waiting thing come up in the corner and nothing happens.
just open a openbox desktop and it will work like a charm with out any scripts
find quote
Flyindog1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #144
Is there a way to add custom "icons" to the websites that I add, like the ones for the included You Tube and Vimieo? When I add websites they all just show a folder.

Thank you in advance
find quote
Nerdy3.14159265 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #145
(2014-04-06 14:57)isitmeor Wrote:  
(2014-04-03 04:34)Nerdy3.14159265 Wrote:  So I tested the script that I have on my Steam OS machine, on the desktop and it properly ran and I could tell metacity was ran. However, from big picture to xbmc and running it via the chrome launcher it doesn't do anything. It has a little waiting thing come up in the corner and nothing happens.
just open a openbox desktop and it will work like a charm with out any scripts

Wouldn't I have to install that as well? I didn't think it would come pre-installed. I was trying to avoid installing a random package, just for the this app, if it's avoidable. Also I'm on Steam OS, I can't just launch Openbox especially not when I'm in XBMC.
find quote
Ja4220 Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #146
Hi again, I know this is not really the right place for it but I guess some of you may have already encountered this problem.
I am trying to install Pipelight but keep getting errors at the apt-upgrade stage

W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/pipelight/stabl...ce/Sources 404 Not Found

W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/pipelight/stabl...6/Packages 404 Not Found

So I had a look at the ppa and there is no oneiric folder.
I am running xbmcbuntu which I assume is based of Oneiric.
Does anyone have a work around or a suggestion to overcome this?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-11 00:36 by Ja4220.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 6,087
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 100
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #147
Has anyone got chrome launcher working on openelec 4 beta? Openelec now has a chromium-browser addon, which I can get to run. But I can't get it to run via chrome-launcher.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-13 01:37 by nickr.)
find quote
Post Reply