WMC as the backend - released

  Thread Rating:
  • 9 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,608
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 48
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #1
The software for using Window Media Center (wmc) as the backend for XBMC as been released.

You can find the software and get info here:
https://googledrive.com/host/0ByNnAMYBoW...index.html

For raspbmc users, the client is now included in the released version of raspbmc.

Please post your bug reports and feature requests in this thread.

-----

If anyone would like to help by contributing to the wiki page for this project, just apply for an account on the XBMC wiki and then start editing these pages:
server: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=PVR.../ServerWMC
client: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Add-on:PVR.WMC

-----

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-02 18:54 by krustyreturns.)
find
MeMeMe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
This may be a more general XBMC PVR question: in the Recordings screen, is there any way to sort by title, rather than by date?

I have installed the server, and had an issue on first run, and a fix in case anyone else has this problem..
I installed the server on my WMC machine, and the pvr client on a second machine where I have XBMC.

After following the installation, I clicked the Enable PVR button in XBMC's TV settings, and XBMC crashed, with a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library error.

I then went back the the WMC server machine, shut down the server program, restarted it, and it popped up a windows firewall message, asking if I wanted to allow it. I did, and after that, things were fine.

So, for some reason, on first run of the serverWMC, the firewall was not set up to allow it. Shutting the server down and restarting it triggered the dialog to create the firewall rule to allow it.
find
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,608
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 48
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #3
(2013-08-14 02:13)MeMeMe Wrote:  This may be a more general XBMC PVR question: in the Recordings screen, is there any way to sort by title, rather than by date?

I have installed the server, and had an issue on first run, and a fix in case anyone else has this problem..
I installed the server on my WMC machine, and the pvr client on a second machine where I have XBMC.

After following the installation, I clicked the Enable PVR button in XBMC's TV settings, and XBMC crashed, with a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library error.

I then went back the the WMC server machine, shut down the server program, restarted it, and it popped up a windows firewall message, asking if I wanted to allow it. I did, and after that, things were fine.

So, for some reason, on first run of the serverWMC, the firewall was not set up to allow it. Shutting the server down and restarting it triggered the dialog to create the firewall rule to allow it.

Thanks for this, I think others are having this problem too. Everytime I have installed the server I get the firewall message on first run, I'm not sure why this isn't the case for everybody. The new version of the server I put up should catch this error, but as I don't have this problem I can't be sure. Once I can recreate it, I will try to make the client fail more gracefully.

BTW, I would like an answer the recorded tv sort question too, I can't control the order in the client (at least I don't think I can Smile).

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find
asm495 Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
Reposting from other thread:

(2013-08-14 00:58)krustyreturns Wrote:  I'll take 'fairly well' at this stage.

I'll look into the crash log, but can you tell me if the crash for a currently recording program happens every time?

Are you saying that only MPEG4 has this jerky playback?

I tried about 3 times to play a programme that was currently recording and each time a crash box popped up referencing your development environment I presume (victor).

Yes, only MPEG4 has the issues. Standard Def channels play without a hitch.

I am really excited by this project - keep up the great work!
find
hoopsdavis Offline
Fan
Posts: 505
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Herndon, Va
Post: #5
Here's a question I've been looking for an answer for. I'd like to run this on my xbmc server PC and as client on my living room PC. To run this on the Server PC does the WMC app built in with Windows 7 have to be active? I've disabled it on all PC's due to only using xbmc.
Should it be re-enabled on the server PC before running your setup?

Bedroom: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung D6000 40"
Living Room: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung FH6030 40"




find
asm495 Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
(2013-08-14 14:22)hoopsdavis Wrote:  Here's a question I've been looking for an answer for. I'd like to run this on my xbmc server PC and as client on my living room PC. To run this on the Server PC does the WMC app built in with Windows 7 have to be active? I've disabled it on all PC's due to only using xbmc.
Should it be re-enabled on the server PC before running your setup?

WMC needs to be installed. However the WMC interface itself does not need to be running.
find
hoopsdavis Offline
Fan
Posts: 505
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Herndon, Va
Post: #7
Does anyone have a screenshot of their xbmc EPG guide using the wmc backend?

Bedroom: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung D6000 40"
Living Room: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung FH6030 40"




find
ejezuba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Thanks Krusty! LaughI am so excited this works even on my ATV Chrystalbuntu systems. Please let me know where to donate.

(2013-08-14 15:55)hoopsdavis Wrote:  Does anyone have a screenshot of their xbmc EPG guide using the wmc backend?

Here you go...

http://imgur.com/voyzVZH
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-14 16:52 by ejezuba.)
find
hoopsdavis Offline
Fan
Posts: 505
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Herndon, Va
Post: #9
(2013-08-14 16:45)ejezuba Wrote:  Thanks Krusty! LaughI am so excited this works even on my ATV Chrystalbuntu systems. Please let me know where to donate.

(2013-08-14 15:55)hoopsdavis Wrote:  Does anyone have a screenshot of their xbmc EPG guide using the wmc backend?

Here you go...

http://imgur.com/voyzVZH

Very nice. where'd you get the channel icons?

Bedroom: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung D6000 40"
Living Room: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung FH6030 40"




(This post was last modified: 2013-08-14 16:53 by hoopsdavis.)
find
ejezuba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(2013-08-14 16:52)hoopsdavis Wrote:  
(2013-08-14 16:45)ejezuba Wrote:  Thanks Krusty! LaughI am so excited this works even on my ATV Chrystalbuntu systems. Please let me know where to donate.

(2013-08-14 15:55)hoopsdavis Wrote:  Does anyone have a screenshot of their xbmc EPG guide using the wmc backend?

Here you go...

http://imgur.com/voyzVZH

Very nice. where'd you get the channel icons?

I have my channel logos addon on my MCE and it seems the server pulled it in on my windows XMBC clients. But it does not seem to work for my Linux clients...
find
hoopsdavis Offline
Fan
Posts: 505
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 4
Location: Herndon, Va
Post: #11
(2013-08-14 16:59)ejezuba Wrote:  
(2013-08-14 16:52)hoopsdavis Wrote:  
(2013-08-14 16:45)ejezuba Wrote:  Thanks Krusty! LaughI am so excited this works even on my ATV Chrystalbuntu systems. Please let me know where to donate.


Here you go...

http://imgur.com/voyzVZH

Very nice. where'd you get the channel icons?

I have my channel logos addon on my MCE and it seems the server pulled it in on my windows XMBC clients. But it does not seem to work for my Linux clients...

That's pretty sweet.

So to get this setup you're telling me I have to actually go through setting up WMC first and once I get everything setup there it'll tranfer to xbmc once I setup the wmc pvr backend?

How are the details of your EPG when you look at movie or tv show info?

Bedroom: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung D6000 40"
Living Room: Windows 7 | Hauppauge HD-PVR | Gotham 13.1 w/serverWMC | Samsung FH6030 40"




find
asm495 Offline
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #12
Odd, I didn't get any channel logos from mine come through even though they are there in WMC.
find
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,608
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 48
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #13
(2013-08-14 15:03)asm495 Wrote:  
(2013-08-14 14:22)hoopsdavis Wrote:  Here's a question I've been looking for an answer for. I'd like to run this on my xbmc server PC and as client on my living room PC. To run this on the Server PC does the WMC app built in with Windows 7 have to be active? I've disabled it on all PC's due to only using xbmc.
Should it be re-enabled on the server PC before running your setup?

WMC needs to be installed. However the WMC interface itself does not need to be running.

I want to add to this answer because it is important (and this is a new thread and all). Not only does wmc need to be installed, but it needs to be configured (tuners discovered, drivers loaded, channels set up, etc). My server program needs to get all this setup info from the wmc database.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find
mitch1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
This looks ACE! - can't wait to get home nd try it out.. So I take it that the channel change delays of other back-ends are gone? is this just as quick as native 7MC?
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-14 17:09 by mitch1.)
find
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,608
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 48
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #15
(2013-08-14 17:07)asm495 Wrote:  Odd, I didn't get any channel logos from mine come through even though they are there in WMC.

You should have. Please send me a server log. Another thing to check is the server software creates a disposable and hidden directory in your recorded tv folder called 'tempxbmc'. In this folder is an image cache that should contain the channel icons it found.

(2013-08-14 17:09)mitch1 Wrote:  This looks ACE! - can't wait to get home nd try it out.. So I take it that the channel change delays of other back-ends are gone? is this just as quick as native 7MC?

No its much slower. There is still work to do.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-14 17:13 by krustyreturns.)
find
Thread Closed